Halloween Read-a-Thon + Giveaway

Hi everyone! So this read-a-thon is hosted by Lauren over at Wonderless Reviews. She’s fabulous, I absolutely love her and her blog so when I saw that she was doing this again I knew I had to try to participate. I don’t really love or read horror or thriller, but I’ve adapted the categories to work for me. See the details of the event and my TBR below! I’M ALSO DOING MY FIRST GIVEAWAY (US ONLY), so keep reading!!!!

details

💀 The read-a-thon is going to run from the 10th October – 31st October.

💀 You can join in at any time until the end of the read-a-thon.

💀 You can read as many or as little books as you want!!!

💀 The books need to be horror, thriller and/or have some kind of supernatural element (except for one challenge, but more on that below)!

💀 When posting your TBR link back to the original post so other people can join in!! Share the spooky love! You can post your TBR on Twitter, Instagram, Goodreads, YouTube – ANYWHERE!

💀 Use the hashtag #HalloweenWR to share your progress on social media!!

the giveaway

Lauren is doing her own giveaway you should check out, Im doing one as well. I’m giving out a hardcover copy of Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter (details on how to enter below). Read the blurb: 

In the enchanted kingdom of Brooklyn, the fashionable people put on cute shoes, go to parties in warehouses, drink on rooftops at sunset, and tell themselves they’ve arrived. A whole lot of Brooklyn is like that now—but not Vassa’s working-class neighborhood.

In Vassa’s neighborhood, where she lives with her stepmother and bickering stepsisters, one might stumble onto magic, but stumbling away again could become an issue. Babs Yagg, the owner of the local convenience store, has a policy of beheading shoplifters—and sometimes innocent shoppers as well. So when Vassa’s stepsister sends her out for light bulbs in the middle of night, she knows it could easily become a suicide mission.

But Vassa has a bit of luck hidden in her pocket, a gift from her dead mother. Erg is a tough-talking wooden doll with sticky fingers, a bottomless stomach, and a ferocious cunning. With Erg’s help, Vassa just might be able to break the witch’s curse and free her Brooklyn neighborhood. But Babs won’t be playing fair…

💀 The giveaway opens  today and closes on the October 31st . You can enter anytime between those dates. The winner will be announced on the November 1st.

💀 The giveaway is US only. Sorry ya’ll but shipping restrictions.

💀 One person will win a hardcover copy of Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

💀 I’ll need your address so you have to be 18+ to enter or have your parents/guardians permission.

💀 I accept no responsibility if it is lost or damaged.

💀 Click the image below to enter via Rafflecopter!

[click this if the image doesn’t work]

the challenges & my Tbr

🕸 This is kind of subjective. I’m picking Miss Peregrines Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. For me those black and white covers are pretty creepy, even if the contents of the book might not be (but then who knows I haven’t read it yet).

🕸 I’m going to finally read the last book in The Raven Cyle series for this challenge, The Raven King. This quartet definitely has some super natural elements going on, even if I haven’t figured out exactly what yet. It’ll be good to finally finish it all and get to the bottom of all the mysteries.

🕸 I just picked up Stalking Jack the Ripper at the Boston Teen Author Festival and I’d like to think it’s a thriller? We’re gonna just go with yes.


🕸 Vengeance Road is on my fall TBR, so I’m probably going to try to kill two birds with one stone here and finally pick it up. Subject to change though depending on my mood and schedule.

🕸 This is TBD for me. I don’t watch horrors or thrillers ever really so I’m not sure. Maybe I’ll give into my boyfriends wishes and go see IT? Either way he’ll probably pick the movie cause no way I’m watching it alone. Any recs from y’all?

🕸  I’m going with treat on this one. I’m going to start Forbidden by Kimberly Little. This is a book I recently got, I’ve heard nothing about it but I feel like I need to start picking up more of the like unmentioned/not super hyped or current books.

🕸 The two I’m going to pick up for this are Fireblood 🔥 and The Great Pursuit. These are both sequels I’m eager to read.

let me know if you’re participating in this readathon in the comments! also leave any horror/thriller book recs!
15 thoughts on “Halloween Read-a-Thon + Giveaway

  1. blackcatkai says:

    The last book on The Raven Cycle is so so good, you’re gonna love it! And it’s cool you’re doing your own giveaway as well!! You should definitely see It, it’s actually funnier than you’d expect so it might be a good one since you don’t watch horror much? I definitely enjoyed it myself. Good luck on your books! I can’t wait for this one to start

    Like

  2. Life of a Female Bibliophile says:

    Love your book picks for October! A Halloween read-a-thon sounds like fun. I wish I could participate, but I need to catch up on some books for review. Awesome giveaway too! A lot of the books you mentioned are on my TBR, but I haven’t gotten to them just yet. I love horror movies, but if you don’t particularly care for them I would recommend classic horror films (B&W versions) of House on Haunted Hill, Night of the living Dead, and other classics like that. They aren’t too intense.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Adoptabookaus says:

    Oh awesome picks! I really need to read Stalking Jack the ripper, it sounds amazing hope you love it 😀 I was expecting Miss Peregrines to be super creepy because of the photo’s and it’s not as creepy as I wanted but still good. Hope you’re having an awesome October and love all of these ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

