Top 5 Wednesday: Second Book Is The Best

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is top five second books that are the best in the series. We recently did a top five series that got better—and it was a lot to try to not to repeat that because those were definitely the books that came to my mind. So this was a hard one for me. I’m not even sure if some of these are the best book in the series for me, I just think they were a bit better than the first. Let me know some of your top five in the comments!

1. Seige and Storm (The Grisha Trilogy #2) by Leigh Bardugo

This whole series was okay for me, definitely not on my favorites list but I enjoyed Seige and Storm infinitely more than Shadow and Bone. The second book is where thing start to happen, the pacing is picked up, and we get some new characters who liven things up considerably.

2. Lifeblood (Everlife #2) by Gena Showalter

Okay both of these books are really good, and I can’t give a full judgement if this is the best because the series isn’t finished yet,  but similarly this is the book where stuff starts to happen. Ten had chosen her Everlife and is separated from Killian and things are so much more complicated than they first seemed. I under hype this series, I definitely feel like I should talk about it more than I do because it’s super original and a really great read.

3.  Broken Prince (The Royals #2) by Erin Watt

I don’t know if y’all have heard of this series, it’s a sort of posh-boy meets not-posh girl (kind of Cinderella like) story. Except Reed acts like anything other than a prince. The first book is where Reed and Ella finally start to get along (where the first book is all fighting) and other drama starts picking up.

4. Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2) by Suzanne Collins

I know I said I was going to try to avoid repeating myself from my past T5W, but I couldn’t not include these next two books. Catching Fire is the og second book is the best for me, I think this is the best movie as well. I love the new cast of characters being entered into the games and this is where Peeta and Katniss are the strongest and I just love them so.

5. A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2) by Sarah J. Maas

I read the first book in this series and thought it was good and really liked it, and then I read ACOMAF and realized how foolish I was. This book just completely blew everything else out of the water for me.

let me know what you think of these books and your top 5 in the comments!
2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Second Book Is The Best

Leave a Reply

