Top 5 Wednesday: Series That Got Better

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is top five series that got better—since we usually talk about ones that got worse. This was pretty easy for me, a lot of these sereis the first book was good, but I really started to get into them with the second or third book. Let me know some of your fave series that got better in the comments!

1. The Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

The first book in this series is good, don’t get me wrong, but it really just scratches the surface of what’s going on with these characters in this world, and so many of them develop so much more—Celeana in book one is totally different than in book five. We don’t even have some of what become the main characters in this book. I feel like this series has such a vast world and the story grows so much, it’s kind of comparable to reading only the first ASOIAF book/watching the first GOT TV season.

2. The A Court of Thorns and Roses Series by Sarah J. Maas

Kind of similar to TOG, Sarah J. Maas completely switches up the story between the first and second book. I know a lot of people have issues with the fact that she keeps doing this, but I LOVED the second book in this series. Like I enjoyed the first book and thought it was really good when reading it, but then I got to ACOMAF and was just like ‘whoa now, I didn’t know I needed this but I did.’

3. The Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi

This is another one where I enjoyed the first book, then realized what I was missing once we got to book two and three. One word: WARNER!!

4. The Remnant Chronicles Series by Mary E. Pearson

The allure of the first book in this series is that it’s told from three points-of-view; Lia, the runaway princess who’s hiding, the prince who’s arranged marriage she ran away from, and an assassin sent to kill her, and you don’t know which guy is the assassin and which one is the prince. And that was definitely unique and cool, but because it’s trying to avoid spoiling who is who, the male characters are a little surface. They develop a lot in the second and third book, and so does Lia as she becomes a really strong person and leader.

5. The Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Colins

Catching Fire is my favorite one and gives me all the Peeta feels. End of story.

let me know your favorite series that got better in the comments!
3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Series That Got Better

Leave a Reply

