Top 5 Wednesday: Books For Your Hogwarts House

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is books for your Hogwarts House. I have never read Harry Potter, although I do enjoy the movies, so my knowledge on like House characteristics might be a little off—I did Google them though. I am a Ravenclaw, per Pottermore test I took a while ago and I feel like that fits. Ravenclaw values intelligence, creativity, learning, and wit so I based my choices around that.

  

 

1. I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandi Nelson

This book has the very unique format of having the brother’s point of view be from the past and the sister’s be from the present and then kind of having this uncharted middle where a lot of things change. I don’t know if that makes sense. But, it is focused around art and is very creative and intelligent and emotional and I feel like it would be appreciated by any Ravenclaw.

2. Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill

When I read this book I thought “wow, that protagonist is so me.” And since I’m a Ravenclaw, I think she would be too. Julia is very planned, smart, type-a and gets paired up with this kind of lazy go-with-the-flow guy on her class trip to England. He tries to break her out of her comfort zone and crushes and cuteness follow.

3. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

I feel like Kestrel would be a Ravenclaw. She is in this very authoritarian, fighting, military society, which has taken over another society. Her father is a military leader and all that but she kind of refuses to fight and rule by strength, she really uses her wits and graces to fight and defeat other people.

4. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I feel like some people may argue Celaena is a Gryffindor or even Slytherin, but I think she is a Ravenclaw. This becomes especially apparent to me in the later books. She loves to come up with these smart like surprise plans, spits out snark and wit like nobody’s business, and while she can fight she also really strategizes.

5. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

This just really strikes me as a Ravenclaw book. For all the intelligent, socially awkward/uncomfortable, creative fangirls out there that are totally Ravenclaw.

let me know what house you’re in and your picks for this week’s t5w!
4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books For Your Hogwarts House

Leave a Reply

