17 Quotes From the Contemporary Queen (AKA Sarah Dessen)

sarah-dessen

I absolutely adore Sarah Dessen, she is in my opinion the contemporary queen. I think I’ve read almost all twelve of her books. She’s just amazing. And if you didn’t know, she’s releasing a new book titled Once and For All this month. It’s about a girl whose mom is a wedding planner, and I love weddings so sounds amazing. Anyway, in honor of the new release I thought I’d post some of my favorite Sarah Dessen quotes. That beings said, she has so many and I could do like a whole quote post for each of her books, so like there are a lot more I love but I tried to narrow it down.

“There is never a time or place for true love. It happens accidentally, in a heartbeat, in a single flashing, throbbing moment.” ― Sarah Dessen, The Truth About Forever

“Life is an awful, ugly place to not have a best friend.” ― Sarah Dessen, Someone Like You

“You should never be surprised when someone treats you with respect, you should expect it.”
― Sarah Dessen, Keeping the Moon

“It’s a lot easier to be lost than found. It’s the reason we’re always searching and rarely discovered–so many locks not enough keys.” ― Sarah Dessen, Lock and Key

“Life is full of screwups. You’re supposed to fail sometimes. It’s a required part of the human existance.” ― Sarah Dessen, Along for the Ride

“This is the problem with dealing with someone who is actually a good listener. They don’t jump in on your sentences, saving you from actually finishing them, or talk over you, allowing what you do manage to get out to be lost or altered in transit. Instead, they wait, so you have to keep going.” ― Sarah Dessen, Just Listen

“Home wasn’t a set house, or a single town on a map. It was wherever the people who loved you were, whenever you were together. Not a place, but a moment, and then another, building on each other like bricks to create a solid shelter that you take with you for your entire life, wherever you may go.” ― Sarah Dessen, What Happened to Goodbye

“I wondered if he ever thought of me, and hated the pang I felt when I told myself he didn’t.”  ― Sarah Dessen, Dreamland

“You only really fall apart in front of the people you know can piece you back together.”             ― Sarah Dessen, Saint Anything

“Life is long. Just because you don’t get your chance right when you want or expect it doesn’t mean it won’t come. Fate doesn’t punch a time clock or consult a schedule.” ― Sarah Dessen, The Moon and More

“An ending was an ending. No matter how many pages of sentences and paragraphs of great stories led up to it, it would always have the last word.” ― Sarah Dessen, Along for the Ride

“Two a.m.’ He swallowed, then said, “You know. The person you can call at two a.m. and, no matter what, you can count on them. Even if they’re asleep or it’s cold or you need to be bailed out of jail…they’ll come for you. It’s like, the highest level of friendship.” ― Sarah Dessen, What Happened to Goodbye

“But maybe that isn’t so bad. You can’t love anyone that way more than once in a lifetime. It’s too hard and it hurts too much when it ends. The first boy is ialways the hardest to get over, Haven. It’s just the way the world works.” ― Sarah Dessen, That Summer

“Love is needing someone. Love is putting up with someone’s bad qualities because they somehow complete you.” ― Sarah Dessen, This Lullaby

“I was used to being invisible. People rarely saw me, and if they did, they never looked close. I wasn’t shiny and charming like my brother, stunning and graceful like my mother, or smart and dynamic like my friends. That’s the thing, though. You always think you want to be noticed. Until you are.” ― Sarah Dessen, Saint Anything

“It’s just that…I just think that some things are meant to be broken. Imperfect. Chaotic. It’s the universe’s way of providing contrast, you know? There have to be a few holes in the road. It’s how life is.” ― Sarah Dessen, The Truth About Forever

“So maybe it wasn’t the fairy tale. But those stories weren’t real anyway. Mine were.” ― Sarah Dessen, Along for the Ride

let me know what your favorite sarah dessen quote and book is in the comments!
2 thoughts on “17 Quotes From the Contemporary Queen (AKA Sarah Dessen)

Leave a Reply

