Review: Jenny Han’s Always and Forever, Lara Jean

Title: Always and Forever, Lara Jean
Series: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
Author: Jenny Han
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2017
Pages: 
336
Publisher:
 Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Rating: 

I’m going to try to keep this spoiler free unless you have not read the first two books—To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You—which I totally suggest you do and which you can read my reviews for here and here.

Originally this series was supposed to just be a duology but then Jenny decided she wasn’t done with Lara Jean’s story. I know a lot of people were back and forth on whether this book was needed or if they wanted it, but personally I was excited. These books just always make me happy and smile so.

Plus while like the end of P.S. I Still Love You could be an end and was supposed to be an end I wanted more. Like it ended with Lara Jean and Peter making up, but I wanted more cuteness from them after that. It was just like they apologized and then cut scene.

And this is all about Lara Jean’s senior year. Which makes it feel totally necessary and important to me. I mean I just finished up my senior year of college, but my senior year of high school isn’t that far behind me. I remember it being a year of excitement, all the fun milestones, but more significantly decisions and change. I was honestly really afraid of the change aspect as much as I was excited for it. I did not want my characters to face any hardships or be torn apart.

Like usual, Lara Jean is great. I really keep reading these books for the characters. Like they are so perfect, and endearing, and fun. Her quirkiness continues as well as her baking continues. This plot is a bit more serious for her as college is approaching and so are changes and I feel like that’s not necessarily something she wants—or at least she doesn’t want unexpected changes, which are inevitable.

And then there’s Peter. He is honestly a way more faithful, caring, dedicated, devoted, and serious boyfriend than I though he could or would be when this series started. I guess that just speaks to his growth and how important Lara Jean has become to him. He literally just makes me swoon. Usually the “popular” guys end up being stupid or jerks but he is goofy, understanding, and adorable. I felt really bad because I was reading this around my boyfriend and just swooning over Peter.

And really his and Lara Jean’s relationship is so solid when we start this book, it is flash forwarded it a bit so they’ve been dating for like a year. They’ve like reached they point where they know each other really well that being around each other is so comfortable and second nature.

Then there is the Covey clan. This is like my favorite book family, I have never seen a better father/daughter/sisters relationship. Kitty is just a star.

Always and Forever, Lara Jean is a sweet, swoony, and satisfying conclusion to a character, family, and relationship that have become near and dear to my heart. You couldn’t find a more heartwarming story or leading lady. Always and Forever, Lara Jean is on Amazon and the author can be found at jennyhan.com.

2 thoughts on “Review: Jenny Han’s Always and Forever, Lara Jean

  1. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    Ahh I’m so excited for this!! I loved the first one, but wasn’t too keen on the second one (mostly cos they spent the whole book broken up) so I’m really excited to see how this one turns out- so glad you liked it!! Great review 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

