This or That Thursday: Challenge #92 Book Buying

Every week the Bookmark Chronicles poses a bookish question. If you want to check out the challenge click the link.

THIS WEEK IS:If you’re in the bookstore looking for a new book to read, which of these would play the biggest role in whether or not you purchase a book: Cover, Description, Author.

I guess the description. I mean yes, there are definitely a handful of auto-buy authors out there for me, but in terms of finding new books and series and such it is usually the description that plays a big role. I always check that out, I can’t just look at a cover and be like oh that’s pretty and then buy it—even though yeah that sometimes is what get’s me to pick up the book and read the description.

Also, not an option but for me reviews are really important, especially if it’s a book I’ve heard nothing about. Even at a store I’ll pull up Goodreads on my phone and just look at the general star rating and maybe skim some reviews.

let me know your answer to this week’s this or that in the comments!
6 thoughts on “This or That Thursday: Challenge #92 Book Buying

  1. itsareaderslife says:

    I agree with you. The cover/title/author will draw me in to begin with but the description is my ultimate decider😊

    Like

  2. Bentley ★ BookBastion.net says:

    I always check Goodreads on my phone when I’m at the bookstore and a book catches my eye that I’m not familiar with. I trust a lot of my friends on Goodreads, so I usually peruse some of the reviews and see if there are any from people I’m familiar with too.

    Like

  3. delphinespublications says:

    When I’m wandering about in the book store, it’s usually the cover that draws my attention first, over the author/description. Even though it’s technically the description of the book that leads to my final decision on whether or not to buy it, the cover and how attractive it is is what motivates me in the first place to pick up and even read the description.
    However, Goodreads has been helping my book/cover bias a lot in that nowadays, I usually go to the bookstore already with the title of the book I want after getting recommendations from buddies on Goodreads.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

