Review: Victoria Aveyard’s King’s Cage

Title: King’s Cage
Series: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Dystopian, Fantasy
Publication Date: February 7th, 2017
Pages: 
528
Publisher:
 HarperTeen
Rating: 

Glass Sword is the third book in the  Red Queen quartet by Victoria Aveyard. Fair warning that this will have spoilers if you haven’t read Red Queen and Glass Sword—which you can read my reviews for here and here.

I was on the edge of my seat with the ending of Glass Sword—with Mare giving her self up to save her friends. King’s Cage is the aftermath of that sacrifice. Mare is Maven’s captive; and despite her position, she can see him trying to prove himself to her and save her. On the other side, The Scarlet Gaurd is still looking to conquer while Cal is focused on saving Mare.

I was a bit frustrated with Mare here, I mean I think a lot of us have been for the past two books but still. She is prisoner and isn’t really trying to do anything about it. There are a few instances of her acting out but they don’t really seem to accomplish anything. It’s like she’s given into the idea of being Maven’s pet. Like even if she couldn’t escape, I wanted to maybe see her trying to tear down the court from the inside. 

Something that’s interesting is we get some other points of view in King’s Cage. Cameron, who is the new blood we met in the last book with the power to nullify powers and kill, is our eyes and ears for what’s happening with the Scarlet Guard. Her perspective is really unique and different from Mare because she really wants no part in the revolution. That said, I wasn’t really invested in her. She came in so late in Glass Sword and had an attitude, I don’t totally care about her. 

It might be typical, but I wish we got to see inside Cal’s head instead. I wanted more from him, he is very surface in this book compared to the boy I met in Red Queen. He is on a mission to get Mare back, with each of them sort of admiting their feelings once they’re separated. I have been shipping them this whole time and it fell a bit flat for me here. I think more time of them really together and interacting and sharing their feelings would’ve reminded us all how great there connection is. 

Later in the story we get Evangeline’s perspective as well. She is still catty and in line to be queen, as Maven’s betrothed. There’s obviously no love there. We get some insight into her personal life and motivations that are interesting and that might lead to some changes in the next book.  

I don’t know, I enjoyed the book but it definitely was more talk and waiting and less action than the others. It really does feel kind of like a filler. 

Like with all the books in the series though, the end of King’s Cage left me reeling. I have no clue where this could go next. 

Find King’s Cage on Amazon and the author at victoriaaveyard.com.

Let me know what you think of King’s Cage in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

