Review: Jennae Cecelia’s I Am More Than A Daydream

Title: I Am More Than A Daydream
Author: Jennae Cecelia
Genre: 
Poetry
Publication Date: April 15th, 2017
Publisher:
 CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Rating: 

black4

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review.

This short collection packs a punch. Each poem oozes empowerment, self-love, perseverance, and positivity. I devoured it. Jennae is able to able to succinctly and beautifully describe nagging and poisonous feelings that plague everyone, and then she puts a positive spin on them—showing the light at the end of the tunnel.

I Am More Than A Daydream is split into two sections “All I Am” and “All I Can Be.” I think the titles alone really showcase the tone and message of the collection and each section. It is a little more lighthearted than some comparable contemporary poetry collections—such as milk and honey and The Princess Saves Herself in This One. But it holds the same style of short poems, modern language, sections, and sometimes cute accompanying illustrations.

There’s a lot of nature and plant imagery as well, I dug it. I think it was a really nice unifier for some of the poems and just was a pleasant common thread that I noticed throughout.

Also, do you see that cover? It is so gorgeous. It reminds me of the end of a hot sunshine-y summer day.

A work of feminism and positivity, Jennae’s I Am More Than A Daydream should be on your to-read list. It doesn’t even matter if you’re not a “poetry person.” I thought that too before reading contemporary. Everything is just so relatable and easy language wise that you will not get bogged down. You can find I Am More Than A Daydream on Amazon and the author at jennaececelia.com. And check out a gallery of some of them poems I liked below!

Let me know what you think of the collection in the comments and leave any poetry recommendations!
Leave a Reply

