Discussion: Re-Reads

I thought it would be fun to have some short discussion posts on some different things relevant to reading. I haven’t really done one of these that isn’t a meme or instigated by someone else so please tell me what you think in the comments! Also contribute your own thoughts, this is a discussion and I would love to hear what everyone has to say. I want to talk about re-reading this time.

I personally re-read quite frequently. Some books really get me out of slumps and I pick those up for a re-read when I feel one approaching: like The Selection, Anna and the French Kiss, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. Really any sweet, cute, light contemporary.

I also re-read when it comes to series. If it has been a while since reading the last couple books when a new one is released I pick them up. Doesn’t always happen though with time restraints.

I know some people aren’t the biggest re-readers and don’t do it because they just want to read new stuff. But I don’t think there really is a point of reading new books and falling in love with them if you don’t plan on revisiting them.

let me know what you think about re-reads and let me know what books you keep re-reading in the comments!
13 thoughts on “Discussion: Re-Reads

  1. Emma Jane says:

    I generally reread series that I’ve loved (I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve read Rachel Caine’s ‘The Morganville Vampires’ series)! I love rereading, but at the same time, I can see why some don’t enjoy it and want to read new things!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Swetlana says:

    I love re-reading and revisiting characters and stories I fell in love with before! Though sometimes that turns into realizing how annoying some characters can be (Clary from TMI comes to mind, for example) and you wonder why exactly you enjoyed them so much the first time around. But then the exact opposite can happen and you are reminded of why you loved a different set of characters (Will, Tessa and Jem from TID for example)!

    I usually try to re-read the previous books in a series before continuing, but sometimes there’s just no time for that and so I go into the next book somewhat blind. Sometimes it works out and sometimes I am just so confused! Especially when there’s more than a year between books! I am sill trying to finally start my re-read of ACOTAR and ACOMAF and in time for the release of ACOWAR but so far all I’ve been doing is staring at the book.. and there’s only two weeks left before the release!

    Like

  3. simply0strange says:

    I re-read series a lot, especially when the next book comes out. I also re-read favorite books– which are the only ones I buy, so I can always have them handy. I slowed down on reading books again because of all the books I still need to get to…. but this past month I have been doing a lot of re-reading which has made my reading experience so carefree 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ashley says:

    I love re-reading books, I pick up on new things each time I do re-read a book. I also love re-visiting the characters and places. I did a discussion post about re-reading books a while back and got some interesting comments.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ACourtOfBooksAndLove says:

    I don’t normally reread books but that’s because I just recently got back into reading and have too many books I want to read. I’d love to reread a few of the books I have but it’s not too often I get the chance to. I fully support rereading, especially to get out of slumps.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kiersten says:

    I re-read books quite frequently. There are some books that I have read 5-10 times (like the entire Harry Potter series) If people can watch the same movies or television shows over and over again, why can’t I do the same with a book?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Chelsea says:

    I’m definitely someone who enjoys re-reading for the chance to revisit the characters I love, and the unique worlds they live in. I think with some books you can re-read and find something new each time because they have such depth to them, particularly Dorothy Dunnett’s dense historical epic The Lymond Chronicles. I’ve re-read all six books twice and I know it’s a series I will be re-reading for the rest of my life. I find I’m more likely to get the urge to re-read if I’m in a new book slump, where I’ve read a few books in a row that haven’t grabbed me so I start looking for something familiar to suck me in again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

