This Or That Thursday: Challenge #86 Male POV

Every week the Bookmark Chronicles poses a bookish question. If you want to check out the challenge click the link.

THIS WEEK IS: HAVE YOU EVER READ A DYSTOPIAN (STAND ALONE OR SERIES) WITH A MALE PROTAGONIST?

I have not read any dystopian told strictly through a male’s point of view or with strictly a male protagonist. I have read I think a couple told through dual point of view. There’s the Legend series by Marie Lu, which I enjoyed and is told through chapters alternating between our male and female protagonists.

There is also the hated Allegiant, the last book in Veronica Roth’s Divergent series, that adds in Four’s point of view.

I think a lot of dystopian young adult, and just young adult books in general are written by female authors so we get a lot of female point of view characters and protagonists. Not saying there aren’t male authors or that women writers can’t write men main characters, but in my reading experience a lot of women authors typically tend to write women protagonists.

I don’t know, maybe it’s just because I like to read about girl protagonists more that I just haven’t discovered these books. The only ones I can think of are the Maze Runner books, not that I read them but I know a bit about them.

Do you guys have any recs? Let me know in the comments!
2 thoughts on “This Or That Thursday: Challenge #86 Male POV

  1. abookwithoutend says:

    Oh what comes to mind is The Reckoners trilogy by Brandon Sanderson, it has a male p.o.v. in a dystopian setting 😀
    But I have been considering reading Legend, but is it like a lot of YA clichés in it? xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

