Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Would Make Good Video Games

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is top five books you think would make good video games. I am not really a huge video game player, my boyfriend is though. I dabble with occasional Civ binges. Anyway, I had a bit of trouble with this so let me know what your top five are in the comments!

1. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I don’t think this should come as any surprise, I’ve seen it on a ton of people’s lists already this morning. There is just so much action and fun and clues in this book. Plus it’s in space! Who doesn’t love video games set in space? There is also the fact that the book is already in a really alternative format so why not make it into another alternative format?

2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I think it would be really cool to have a video game that put you in the games, like of course the games are horrible and gruesome but you could kind of pick and choose which way you wanted to play and survive. And then maybe if you win continue after to like see if you’re going to end up leading the rebellion or not.

3. Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan

Camp Half-Blood, in a video game: need I say more? Like I would love a video game where I would get to be a demigod and hang at camp. Maybe like not have you be any of the book main characters, but be your own new one and experience camp and go on quests.

4. Legend by Marie Lu

I think this book and series has a really nice set up for like multiple video games, heck it was already made into a graphic novel. You could either be June or Day and then kind of have to go about getting clues to what is happening and navigating the city and such. I don’t know, I think it’d be interesting.

5. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

A video game where you would get a grace. I mean come-on. Hasn’t everyone who has read this book wish they had a grace? Like it would be completely random and then I think you’d have to go about navigating the kingdom, maybe you’d even be in Katsa’s little secret group.

WHAT books would you make video games? LET ME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS!
8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Would Make Good Video Games

Leave a Reply

