Top 5 Wednesday: SFF Books On Your TBR

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is five top sff books on your to-be-read list—this means sci-fi and fantasy books. Let me know what your top five are in the comments!

1. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

I for some reason have the second book in this trilogy but not the first. I don’t know how that happened. Oh yes I do, a BookOutlet sale. Anyway, this fantasy series sounds so up my alley. An untested young princess coming back to claim her throne and battle an evil queen. Plus, there is a movie optioned and Emma Watson is involved. Emma Watson!

2. Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas 

This has been on my list forever. I mean I finished the first books like months and months ago. Crown of Midnight has just been sitting on my shelf. I can’t motivate myself to read it for some reason. Someone comment about how awesome it is and that I’ll like it so I get pushed into it this month!

 

3. Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2) by Jay Kristoff and Amy Kaufman

I think I want to reread Illuminae before diving into this sequel. This is really one of the only sci-fi series I have gotten into. It just isnt’ usually my genre but I love the format of these novels with the story being told through different mediums instead of typical prose narration. People really went crazy about Illuminae and I have heard just as good things about Gemina even though it doesn’t have the same protagonists.

4. Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

Mulan retelling. I feel like that is all I should have to say. This sounds amazing. Renée’s other stories and writing are great as well. There is a political marriage involved as well—which is new—and I look forward to seeing explored. I am not sure if there is actually a romance in this book but I’m not even sure I need it.

5. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

I am definitely behind the bandwagon on this one. Still I have heard so many good things about this series. I honestly don’t know too much about it but I have the first book and am eager to try it out. It sounds like it has all my favorite things in a fantasy book too: magic, warring kingdoms, a love story, and a kick ass girl.

WHAT ARE the sff books on your tbr? LET ME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS!
16 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: SFF Books On Your TBR

  1. Swetlana says:

    Ive read and LOVED Crown Of Midnight! I also thought it was much better than Throne Of Glass! So you should absolutely get to it asap!

    As for Snow Like Ashes, I also really enjoyed that one! I just need to finally read the last book in the trilogy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hannah @ Book Freak-Out says:

    Queen of the Tearling is super great, the trilogy really evolves over each book. Currently reading Flame in the Mist myself! Snow Like Ashes took me a bit to get into but I was glad I stuck it out because it got pretty interesting right after the point where I quit the first time (of course).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reading with Rendz says:

    CROWN OF MIDNIGHT IS THE BEST BOOK IN THAT SERIES!!!!!!!!!!! (In my opnion anyways…hehehe) There is so much action, drama and twists that will make you go berserk! (yes I just used the word berserk) PLUS my favourite romance of the entire series!! ALSO SNOW LIKE ASHES IS A M A Z I N G!!!! I loved it!! As for the rest of your choices they are all on my list as well! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

