How I Plan My Blog

I am such a planner. It really is just part of my personality. I always have had these really intensive color-coded planners and to-do lists for school. And I learned really quickly that planning is also the only way I can successfully keep up with my blog. When I started blogging I had no clue how time consuming it would be—and I think that’s true for a lot of bloggers. It really is like another job.

So this is a little show-and-tell post of how I plan. It’s broken down into a couple different layers. Having a lot of different formats is what works best for me. I can admit to being really neurotic and type a here. This might not work for everyone.

google spreadsheet

I create a spreadsheet each month on my drive. It is probably the most concrete and important part of my planning and is really what keeps me accountable and on schedule. I try to plan out the whole month at once. It is a bit easier since I have some posts—Monday Motivation, Released This Week, Top 5 Wednesday, This or That Thursday—that are weekly. Then I have my haul at the end of the month as well.

It works really well as a way to see what is coming up in the week ahead and mark if I finish a post ahead of time. I put the scheduled date and time for each post and then kind of a status. I like color coding the status kind of like a stoplight. It just lets me know what is taken care of and what I failed to meet this month.

my planner

This is a binder planner that I just started using this year. So far I like it. This is a shot from a spread I had back in February—becasue ever since I went on spring break in early March I’ve been slacking with my planner to be honest. But as you can see, during the week I have different events I have to attend color coded as well as my homework listed by class and highlighted when completed.

Then in the notes section in the bottom right I created a checklist of the blog posts I had to do for that week—checking them off when they were written and scheduled. This works for me because I look at my planner pretty frequently for school, events, and homework. It’s just another reminder.

to-do lists


I am a to-do list queen. I love making lists. I find them really satisfying. I use these little list tear sheets all the time. I make at least one for every day. I usually mix my life, school, and blogging goals together in the order they need to get done—starring anything urgent.

my blog journal


I start a new section in my journal for every month. The spread that designates a new month kind of works as a catalog of what books I have to read and which books I have to review. It works really well for keeping me on my toes when it comes to ARCs. It also works as a space that I draft posts and reviews when I am not around my computer so I don’t forget them. I like it because sometimes I’m at work or commuting or wherever and have time to sit and write out a review but don’t necessarily have my laptop. It works really well to have me write the posts out then type them because I just have so much non-computer time out there.

what do you think of my planning methods? how do you plan? let me know in the comments!
16 thoughts on “How I Plan My Blog

  1. Swetlana says:

    I really like your spreadsheet idea – especially with the color coding! Definitely makes for a great visual when you’re working on blog posts! I am not the biggest planner, mainly because I can’t seem to get into it and stick to it? I’ve tried bullet journaling multiple times and just stopped after a week or so.

    But weirdly enough, my non-planing seems to work with the blog? I mean, me and Sandra do some planning here and there and like you, we also have weekly posts we like to do, so those are a given. Same goes for monthly releases, hauls and wrap-ups.

    I usually just schedule post ideas with a title and nothing else and then slowly make my way through those posts whenever I have the time to work on them and so far it’s worked out really well! I’m all planned out and scheduled for at least the end of next week.

    I might try and incorporate some of your techniques though to make sure I stay on top of things in the future! This was a really great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. toomuchofabooknerd says:

    I really do love this post! I’ve only had my blog for a month but I found that planning/scheduling makes blogging so much easier and less stressful!

    I have a blog journal, too, but it’s a MESS right now and I really like that you have different sections for books to be read/review etc. I’ll definitely try to do that and be a bit more organized in April!

    Thanks for all the tips ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reading with Rendz says:

    I wish I could plan like this! I wish! I’ve always called myself a planner because I plan out my to dos but I have trouble completing them. This post was so inspiring to read. It really gets me in the mood to plan…hopefully I can execute it well hehehe XD. Lovely post (you can now cross this post off you list 😉)

    Like

  4. NocturnalJen says:

    Omg I wish I could be this organised, I just really really struggle with organisation. I have a google calendar but find that I forget to put things into it! Generally I just decide what I want to write that day and post whatever… so bad haha xx

    Like

  5. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Ahh, I love this! I wish this was me, but my planning and scheduling consists of not having a plan or a schedule 😂 I did actually have a Spreadsheet schedule a while back where I planned out posts, but when I went off schedule (which was a lot haha) it made me feel super guilty so I stopped using it 😂

    Like

  6. Hannah @ Book Freak-Out says:

    You’re SO ORGANIZED! My train of thought is “wow I really need to finish that post” and then I’m cramming in my typing right before I go to sleep. 😂 I also start draft posts with just the title of what I want to do so I don’t forget. Although I will say, I do a color-coded spreadsheet for when I go to a con and it’s the best thing ever.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

