Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Felt Betrayed By

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is five books or characters you have felt betrayed by. I ended up listing mostly characters. I feel like I get upset with them more often than the book as a whole. Fair warning that these might be a little spoiler-y. Let me know what your top five are in the comments!

1. Tamlin in A Court of Mist and Fury

I am beyond happy with how this book turned out. I love this book. I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way. But I still felt totally betrayed. Tamlin just becomes totally unforgivable in this book. What he does at the beginning is shit. And then he just makes it like a hundred times worse.

2. Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I feel like I don’t even have to explain this one.

3. Adam in Ignite Me

Adam didn’t really do anything to betray me but more like his personality went to shit in the last book. I got so pissed because he was acting like a bratty little child.

4. The Darkling in The Grisha Trilogy

I can admit I should’ve seen this coming. Like he has such a villain name. But for some reason I read him solely as a love interest in the first book.

5. Tariq in The Wrath & The Dawn

Tariq thinks he’s saving Shanzi from her death. I can get behind that. But then it becomes very obvious she is in no danger. Khalid actually loves her. She loves him. And Tariq still doesn’t quit. He is too selfish with her and causes so much extra crap and pain because of it.

WHAT books or characters totally betrayed you? LET ME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS!
16 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Felt Betrayed By

  1. Swetlana says:

    I think Allegiant was the biggest betrayal ever! And once I finished it I got skeptical with every book I read after that was set in a dystopian world – especially if it was the final book in a trilogy. You just don’t do THAT to a character!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. salmahsbookshelf says:

    Totally agree with you on Adam! I didn’t finish the series but I felt like Warner started to oddly become the hero and Adam the villain so I kind of lost interest lol. Tariq is another one I agree with you on lol! He just didn’t know when to back off.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ChandaReads says:

    I didn’t even think of Adam, but I totally agree. While I am definitely Team Warner, his character development dropped off a LOT at the end.

    I also had ACOMAF and Allegiant on my list, but I suspect the latter is on a lot this week, lol.

    Like

  4. happycomesfirst says:

    Oooh haha I’m glad you have the Darkling & Allegiant on your list as well, it doesn’t make me feel so alone 😂 and I wasn’t a huge fan of Tamlin in the first place anyway so I didn’t really care about his character development/backwards-development in ACOMAF 😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

