Review: Jenny Han’s P.S. I Stil Love You

ps I still love youTitle: P.S. I Still Love You
Series: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
Author: Jenny Han
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary
Publication Date: May 26th, 2015
Pages: 
337
Publisher:
 Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Rating: 

pink4.5

Lara Jean really didn’t mean to fall for Peter, they were just pretending, but it happened anyway. And she becomes even more confused when a boy from her past comes back to…make her fall in love?

It’s no surprise that Lara Jean has more letters to write.

I’m just going to say I’ll always love Lara Jean and the Song sisters. They are just perfect—especially Kitty. I was so excited to be back with them in another book.

P.S. I Still Love You picks up right where the first book left off, with Lara Jean and Peter broken up and in a fight. Everything gets resolved between them pretty quickly, but of course more drama kicks up like Gen, the hot tub incident, and John Ambrose Mclarin. I’m not saying I didn’t enjoy what Han did with all the hot tub drama, but at times it felt a little over and extra. I did really like the Gen and John Ambrose drama though, it seemed real and both characters were pretty fleshed out.

Lara Jean is amazing and I definitely would have—or at least would’ve wanted—been friends with her in high school. She is just as quirky, questioning, and as fun as in the first book. Plus there’s more baking!

Then there’s Peter.Sweet, sweet Peter. That boy can be so clueless, but I love him. He just has this light and charm about him, and he really just gets happy from simple things. And he just wants to make Lara Jean happy. Plus, even though he’s the “popular” one, he can totally be goofy and vulnerable around Lara Jean. And every time he calls her “Covey,” my heart constricts.

Peter gets a little competition in P.S. I Still Love You from John Ambrose Mclarin. Remember him? He was one of Lara Jean’s letters and she stalked him out at the Model UN event. Honestly, John is perfect: smart, funny, a gentleman, kind, and just a little quirky. And if we started out the series with him I’d probably love him and be a big shipper, but I just can’t because Peter already has wormed his way into my heart.

P.S. I Still Love You is fun and sweet. Really just the perfect book to read to get you into one of those of those happy sappy moods. I’m really excited for the third book, especially because when P.S. was published the series was really intended to be a duology.

You can find P.S. I Still Love You on Amazon and the author at jennyhan.com.

8 thoughts on “Review: Jenny Han’s P.S. I Stil Love You

  1. michelejennifer says:

    My issue with the hot tub drama wasn’t how far it went (the lengths the kids went to to turn it into its own meme was quite true to life), but with the reaction of the school staff to it. It just bugged me how there were teachers and administrators who clearly knew what was happening, yet they did literally nothing. Except to slut shame Lara Jean. It just really bothered me. Like really? I feel like every single school I’ve worked at is more invested in digital literacy and footprints, and is at least more reactive to those kinds of cyberbullying.
    Wow, sorry. I guess I’ve been sitting on that frustration for a while lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

