8 NonFiction Books I Want to Read

nonfiction-2

This post was prompted by the “This or That” question Rae posted for the week over at The Bookmark Chronicles. This week’s question was do you have a favorite nonfiction? And I had nothing really to respond with because I don’t read a ton of nonfiction. So, instead I thought I’d put this compilation together of nonfiction books I want to read and that are on my list. Leave suggestions in the comments and let me know if you’ve read any of these!

1. Bossypants by Tina Feybossypants

I haven’t watched a ton of Tina Fey’s work, but I love her personality. I just feel like this is the OG of funny, witty, celebrity non-fiction. The story apparently goes: “from her youthful days as a vicious nerd to her tour of duty on Saturday Night Live; from her passionately halfhearted pursuit of physical beauty to her life as a mother eating things off the floor; from her one-sided college romance to her nearly fatal honeymoon.” Like that is just mysterious and quirky enough to make me want to read.

2. A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway

Published posthumously, this is a collection of small reflective sketches of Hemmingway’s time as an ex-pat in Paris. This has been on my list for a while now. I just love the movement of all of the artists and authors living in Paris in the 1920s and would love to read Hemmingway’s description of it and see what him and his peers were doing.

adulting3. Adulting: How to Become a Grown-up in 468 Easy(ish) Steps by Kelly Williams Brown

Guys I am graduating college this year and will be forced to be a real adult. I desperately need to read this book. At least from my understanding this book is fun but also pretty serious and practical. Like it’s not ridiculous, there are real pieces of advice.

4. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

I watched the movie adaptation with Julia Roberts—who is a queen—and adored it. I mean who doesn’t want their own Eat, Pray, Love journey around the world. I think I’d like to read the book as the true and original source and just experience that. Especially considering the time I’m at in my life graduating college, it feels like such a crossroads.

wild5. Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

Okay, I haven’t watched the movie adaptation of Wild yet, but I’ve heard great things so I plan on it. Again, kind of that crossroads thing. I think I like the idea of these women going on this physical and emotional journey and getting to experience that—cause I probably won’t myself. Plus in Wild I believe the woman is in her early to mid twenties, which is pretty close to where I’m at.

6. How to Ruin Everything: Essays by George Watsky

“Are you a sensible, universally competent individual? Are you tired of the crushing monotony of leaping gracefully from one lily pad of success to the next? Are you sick of doing everything right?”

First, I really want to try to read more essay collections. Second, this collection specifically just sounds so humorous and self-aware. And George is an Emerson alum!

everyone hanging out without me7. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

“Perhaps you want to know what Mindy thinks makes a great best friend (someone who will fill your prescription in the middle of the night), or what makes a great guy (one who is aware of all elderly people in any room at any time and acts accordingly), or what is the perfect amount of fame (so famous you can never get convicted of murder in a court of law), or how to maintain a trim figure (you will not find that information in these pages). If so, you’ve come to the right book, mostly!” Like that is all I need for me in the description to make me want to read this book.

8. Bad Feminist by Roxanne Gay

Again, I’m really trying to read more essay collections. I know this collection by Roxanne Gay is fairly popular, and of course the focus on being a woman and feminism really interests me.

Let me know if you’ve read any of these in the comments and leave other nonfiction suggestions!
5 thoughts on “8 NonFiction Books I Want to Read

  1. readwithg says:

    I’ve read a few of the books you’ve listed on this post, and they were fabulous! Especially Bossypants, Tina Fey is my queen. You should check out Shrill by Lindy West if you haven’t read it yet! It’s equally hilarious and empowering. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tyler Wright says:

    Great list!

    I really like nonfiction because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

