Top 5 Wednesday: Books to Get You Out of A Reading Slump

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is your favorite books to get you out of a reading slump. I personally like to read contemporary to get me out of or to avoid a reading slump. Let me know what your top five are in the comments!

anna and the french kissto all the boys I've Loved beforepercy

conspiracy of usfangirl

1. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

I’ve reread this book multiple time when I’ve felt myself slipping into a slump. It’s just so fun, quick, and fluffy. Like it is a great contemporary. Reading it is just a good time overtime.

2. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

I read this book for the first time when I felt myself slipping into a slump. I was reading a lot of fantasy and was just getting bogged down in the genre. Anyway, this propelled me right out of that slump. Like Anna, it’s a very fluffy and easy to read contemporary. Lara Jean was so much fun and the whole plot I loved.

3. Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan

This is just a classic that I can never reread too many times. Plus, since it’s middle grade the writing makes it a little lighter, easier and quick to get through.

4. The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

This story is just fun, well-paced, and full of globe-trotting. I want to describe it as a teen version of Indiana Jones. Like it’s pretty underrated I feel like but so good. Pick it up even if you aren’t in a slump honestly.

5. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Because Cath is so relatable and real and I just love her and I love Levi. Like this book is everything you need in a contemporary. I especially love how it is set in college because I’m in college and I went through what Cath is going through. I don’t want to fully say it’s a new adult book even though it is a college setting, it’s still pretty ya just feel, writing, and subject wise.

WHAT do you read to get out of a slump ? LET ME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS!
4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books to Get You Out of A Reading Slump

  1. Michelle says:

    I usually read something familiar and comforting like Harry Potter 💕
    Fangirl is such a good choice for getting out of a slump! I really want to read Anna and The French Kiss & To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

