Review: Tahereh Mafi’s Ignite Me

ignite meTitle: Ignite Me
Series: Shatter Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Dystopian
Publication Date: February 4th, 2014
Pages: 
409
Publisher:
 HarperCollins
Rating: 

pink5

Ignite Me is the final book in Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me trilogy. Fair warning that this will have spoilers if you haven’t read the first two books, which you can read my reviews for here and here.

Omega Point has been destroyed and Juliette doesn’t now if her friends are alive or dead. Either way, she’s taking down The Reestablishment once and for all. And that means mastering her powers once and for all. To do so, she must rely on Warner, the commander of Sector 45. He’s the one person she thought she could never trust, but also the person who saved her life. But he wants more from her than just saving the world

I can’t praise the writing this series enough. Those of you who have read my other reviews are probably annoyed with me mentioning it but oh well. It’s beautiful, engaging, and just flows in a way that you finish the whole book in a couple hours. Heck, you finish the whole series in a couple of days.

The last book ended with such a cliffhanger, I was more than happy that we picked up right where we left off. Also, we finally get some real lines and plans drawn. Plus, all the revelations you know have to come to head in this final book. Everything I was ready to happen just kept propelling me forward in the book. I don’t know if that made sense or not but it’s how I felt.

I know I keep bringing up the same things in regards to all these books, but I just have to—the whole cast of characters, even secondary ones, are great. The only one I don’t really love is Adam. In the first to books I just thought he was eh, but in Shatter Me he really frustrated/pissed me off. And that’s all I’m going to say about him.

In Shatter Me and Unravel Me, Juliette was kind of dependent, moody, controlled, and unsure. Don’t get me wrong, she was sill awesome and badass, and I loved her. She wasn’t whiney but just real. In this book she is fierce. Fear no longer rules her, mainly her fear of herself and her powers. She’s truly a thing to behold in these books.

And then there’s Warner. I think a lot of hearts softened toward him in the last book, and I felt him to be real and genuine. He’s not completely a good guy, but he’s not completely a bad guy either. Shades of gray. As I’ve said before, he has layers and secrets (and they finally start to come out). If you like Warner I definitely suggest reading the novella from his point of view.

From reading the first two books, you know about the brother storyline. I think it’s an interesting point of tension for Adam, but also a nice possibility for the boys in this book or the future after this book. It was more of a background plot point but I enjoyed it anyway.

For being a dystopian, this series isn’t really heavy on the enemy or villain. I mean yeah the government sucks but I don’t think the figurehead we get, aka Warner and Adam’s dad, is all that detail or even much of a character. He’s more of an idea or concept that just serves as a symbol of the government as a whole. Like I didn’t fully deplore him like Snow or anything. He doesn’t get much backstory or personality as a character.

Kenji has grown to be one of my favorite characters in the second and third books of this series. He has a best friend/brother relationship with Juliette and it just warmed my heart in this book. Kenji is definitely the comic relief for the reader but for the other characters in the books as well, and he knows it. He uses it to hide something, he’s not just written as a comic relief stereotype.

The book ended in what I considered an unresolved but at the same time resolved way. I accept it but am not fully satisfied. Like I don’t want her to write more books to write more books and have them suck, but like there’s still so many things for these characters to do. Maybe like a novella set right after or even a bit in the future.

Overall, a gripping and (mostly) satisfying conclusion to a lovely series. You can find Shatter Me on Amazon and the author at taherehbooks.com.

LET ME KNOW YOUR THOUGHTS ON Ignite ME IN THE COMMENTS AND GIVE ME RECS FOR THE NEXT BOOK I SHOULD READ!

 

One thought on “Review: Tahereh Mafi’s Ignite Me

Leave a Reply

