Top 5 Wednesday: Book Trends You’re Tired Of

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is the top five book trends you’re tired of. Let me know what your top five are in the comments!

selection1. Love trianges

This is a trope I could totally do without. I’d rather spend the time having one really well developed and swoon worthy love interest than two eh ones. That being said, I’ve recently discovered the whole fall in love with one guy and meet bad guy in book one, then in book two fall out of love with first guy and realize the bad guy isn’t actually bad trope. I don’t know if that’s actually a trope, but anyway it’s kind of love triangle like but kind of not and I’m enjoying that. Fully support it.

2. Cover changes mid-series

Like honestly, why am I going to get one or two books with these gorgeous covers that match and then you change it. Like not only are some cover changes words in my opinion (eh-hem The Winner’s Curse series) they also screw with the fact I like my books in the same series to match. 

3. Stretching out a series for no reason

Everyone knows what I’m talking about. Where you have like four books in a series and really the middle two were just fillers that could’ve been combined. Or where the first series sells so well you make a spin-off that’s just like too much and no one wants. Quality over quantity publishers.

throne of glass4. Super assassin/killer/fighter female character

Girls kicking ass is great, trust me I’m all for it. But I feel like every single fantasy or dystopian I’ve read recently focuses on a girl that just has super combat skills, like not every girl is like that. Where are some of the stories about the girls that maybe can’t fight with brawn but are super quick witted and intelligent and fight and rebel that way instead. Really all these characters are gonna start to feel the same soon.

5. She doesn’t know she’s beautiful

We have a lot of books where the male character or love interest is like “oh, she doesn’t know how pretty she is.” And like totally fine, some of these girls are in weird worlds and haven’t seen a mirror, also a lot of girls have self-esteem and image not issues but insecurities. Like I do and probably wouldn’t believe the boy. But like every single girl in every book, really?

what trends/tropes are you tired of? Let me know in the comments!
14 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Book Trends You’re Tired Of

  1. thebookprophet says:

    I didn’t even think of the 5th one! But that’s so true! And love triangles are the absolute worst! They’re so unnecessary. The one in The Selection just got on my nerves, especially since I was basically screaming at America to choose Maxon the entire time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Life of a Female Bibliophile says:

    I definitely get tired of love triangles too, but once I do find an author that write this type of scenario where it is actually interesting rather than the typical style of this trope. And I also agree with the cover changes, usually it’s a 50/50 chance of the cover change looking absolutely fabulous, or a design that looks bad and doesn’t fit with the story’s theme.

    Like

Leave a Reply

