Review: Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me

shatter meTitle: Shatter Me
Series: Shatter Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Dystopian
Publication Date: October 2nd, 2012
Pages: 
338
Publisher:
 HarperCollins
Rating: 

blue4

The last time Juliette touched someone they died. It was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up anyway. It’s been 264 days. No one knows why her touch kills, and until now no one has cared. The world is too buys crumbling, diseases are destroying the population, food is scarce, the weather is wrong, and the animals are gone.

The Reestablishment decided they need her. That she’s the key to fixing things. They want to user her as a weapon. But she won’t let them.

Shatter Me was such an intense read. The writing style is definitely an adjustment, just because some of the words and sentences are crossed out, they’re fragmented in a sort of stream of consciousness way, and it’s very metaphor and simile heavy. This lessens throughout the book I’d say. And I want to say the style isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it’s unique and the metaphors are truly beautiful, Tahereh creates some really shocking passages. Overall the whole book is very lyrical and well written.

Gonna throw it out there that it’s also a very quick read, I finished this in a day. Like it took no time at all, I’d bee on the train reading for thirty minutes and already be a chunk into the book.

The world Shatter Me is set in is super interesting. The earth is essentially failing is at least the way I took it, the weather is unpredictable, animals are gone or dying, food is scarce, and this one party took over by election with the promise of hope but eventually became like dictators. Scary possibilities of where we could go guys.

Onto our main character, Juliette. First, her power is super interesting. Basically, no one can touch there skin. If they touch her for too long they die. And then personality wise she’s kind of everywhere. She spent so much time ignored, being afraid, and being locked up that she doesn’t know about the world or how to interact with people. I loved her. She’s weak and fragile but strong and powerful all at the same time.  She has the power to kill people are others are trying to use her, but she just says no. She’s so against hurting anyone. Everyone has always said she’s a monster, but she’s so very human.

Then there was Adam, who honestly was a little bland for me. I just wasn’t sure of his motivation for anything. You could say Juliette, but like honestly I felt a little insta-love going on so I can’t even see their relationship as such a strong motivating force for him. I could excuse Juliette for the insta-love, because you know she’s never been loved or had human contact but I couldn’t find a reason for Adam.

Adam is in complete comparison to Warner, who is such a dynamic character. People kept saying he was crazy, but I just didn’t see it. Don’t get me wrong, he does bad stuff and is positioned as the villain, but there’s definitely more there. I’m not sure what, but it’s there. He’s the best type of villain, one with something deeper and backstory.

I’ll end with saying this novel paced itself and ended I think right where I wanted it to. It was a little predictable, but I feel like it was still the right place. You can find Shatter Me on Amazon and the author at taherehbooks.com.

LET ME KNOW YOUR THOUGHTS ON shatter me IN THE COMMENTS AND GIVE ME RECS FOR THE NEXT BOOK I SHOULD READ!
12 thoughts on “Review: Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me

  1. Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

    Honestly? I really recommend you go ahead and continue reading the series! Something tells me you’re going to like where it’s going to lead you. And I totally agree, Juliette is such a complex character that was so interesting to unravel throughout the series (see what I did there? 😂). And if you feel like it, I suggest you give the novellas a shot too, I personally believe that it helped me understand the characters better. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

