This or That Thursday: Challenge #76 DNF?

this-or-thatthursday new

So every week Rae from the Bookmark Chronicles poses a bookish question. If you want to check out the challenge click the link. I plan on posting a response on Thursday.

THIS WEEK IS:You’ve just finished book 3 in a series of 6. Book 1 was good, 2 was great, but the one you just finished was….“meh.” What do you do? Finish the series — Call it quits — Put it back on your TBR to finish later?

I think I would finish. If I was three books in, even if the third book wasn’t’ that great I’d be pretty invested. Another factor that would probably get me to finish is if I already owned the next couple books, because like I bought them so I’d feel guilty wasting the money if I didn’t even try.

An example of this for a lot of people I feel like would be Throne of Glass. I haven’t gotten first the past book, but I know a lot of people say they don’t like the middle couple books as much, they get “meh.” Yet, they still read Empire of Storms when it came out.

The only way I’d probably DNF is if I read the book, it was “meh,” and then I had to wait a while for the next book to come out. Like if I had to wait a year for a release or a while for me to buy it, at that point I kind of forget the plot and I’ve lost my place in the series.

what would You guys do? keep reading? dnf? put it back on your tbr? let me know in the comments!

 

5 thoughts on “This or That Thursday: Challenge #76 DNF?

  1. ashley says:

    I don’t have a problem DNF’ing books. I’ve never DNF’ed a book that was a part of a series, but decided that I wouldn’t continue with a series after reading the first book. I’ve also only DNF’ed one book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

