Eight Books I Think Are Underrated

underrated

When I saw that underrated books was this week’s Top Five Wednesday, I thought it was perfect as I’ve been thinking about doing this post for a while. These are books that I think are a bit underrated and not known as well as they should be, if you disagree feel free to let me know in the comments. Honestly, I’ve just joined the book community within the past year so I might’ve missed all the hype for certain things.


conspiracy of us

The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

Avery West’s newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

I bought this book strictly because of the cover. It has a girl in a gown and it is gorgeous. I had heard basically nothing about the book, but man that cover. And am I so glad I did buy it, this book and series is so much fun. Basically a high-stakes treasure hunt across Europe. And the boys, gosh are the boys just great. See my review here.


rubyRuby Red by Kerstin Gier

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era! Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential.

Maybe it’s because this book is a translation that I haven’t heard a lot about it. Honestly, it’s been a while since I’ve read it, but I remember loving it. Gwen is such a spunky character, and I love how her whole life she’s been told she’s not special but her cousin is and then it just flips.


a study in charlotteA Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited not only Sherlock’s genius but also his volatile temperament.

Again, I feel like I didn’t see too much about this book when it came out recently or afterward even. Maybe I’m wrong and I’ve just missed all the talk. I love Sherlock, and I just love how they have the ancestors as teenagers in modern day. And Sherlock is this super badass albeit problematic girl. And Jamie Watson, my heart can’t handle the Watsons. See my review here.


something differentA Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.

This book is so cool because it’s told in like sixteen or something different perspectives, none of which being Lea and Gabe who are the kind-of almost couple. It was unique, sweet, and just an overall fun fast read. Definitely recommend.


the great huntThe Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins

When a strange beast terrorizes the kingdom of Lochlanach, fear stirs revolt. In an act of desperation, a proclamation is sent to all of Eurona—kill the creature and win the ultimate prize: the daughter of King Lochson’s hand in marriage. Princess Aerity knows her duty to the kingdom but cannot bear the idea of marrying a stranger… until a brooding local hunter, Paxton Seabolt, catches her attention. There’s no denying the unspoken lure between them… or his mysterious resentment.

This series comes from Wendy Higgins, who I know is pretty well known for the Sweet Evil books. Yet, I haven’t heard much talk about The Great Hunt, which is strange because I feel like fantasy series always get the most hype. Anyway, it’s a little dark and just the right balance of unique and slightly predictable young adult.


we carry the skyWe Carry the Sky by McKayla Robbin

In her first collection of poetry, McKayla Robbin grows language “like wildflowers / from the wounds / that for years / would not close up.” Simultaneously vulnerable and fierce, her short-form poems engage themes of femininity, identity, violence, and healing.

This poetry is so beautiful and empowering. Rupi Kaur has been getting a lot of well deserved hype lately for her collection Milk and Honey, but I think Robbin is right up there and should be recognized a bit more. It’s a fairly new collection that I think you should for sure give a read. See my review here.


start of me and youThe Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

It’s been a year since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her—the perfect way to convince everyone she’s back to normal. Next: Join a club—simple, it’s high school after all. But when Ryan’s sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop.

I saw a lot about Lord’s When We Collided when it came out recently, but I haven’t heard a lot of people mention her book The Start of Me and You. I think I like this one just a little bit more than When We Collided actually. While her more recent book deals with a lot of important issues, I feel like this one does as well and the relationships are a bit stronger. Like there characters and friend group in this book were my favorite. See my review here.


curse of the sphinxCurse of the Sphinx by Raye Wagner

Seventeen year-old Hope Nicholas has spent her entire life on the run. But no one is chasing her. In fact, no one even knows she exists. With her mom, she’s traveled from town to town and school to school. When her mother is brutally ripped away from her, Hope’s life shatters. Is this the fulfillment of Apollo’s curse, murder from the shadow monsters of the Underworld, or have the demigods finally found her? 

Raye’s books are great for anyone who is now a little bit older but absolutely loves Percy Jackson. The series follows Hope, who is actually a sphinx. I loved that this book brought Greek mythology to modern day. Like I feel for Hope so much in this series and like she’s just a great protagonist to follow. See my review here.


What books do you feel are underrated? Let me know in the comments!
10 thoughts on “Eight Books I Think Are Underrated

  1. Gabby says:

    I’m so glad to see ‘A Little Something Different’ on here! I read it a while back and loved it, but completely forgot about it until you mentioned it. It should definitely get more hype!! Curse of the Sphinx is getting added to by TBR list.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cate T. says:

    “A Study in Charlotte”, I have my eye on that book for a while now. Every time I go to Target, they play the book trailer. I will definitely pick that up this year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

