Twelve Sequels I’m Excited for in 2017

2017-sequels

I recently did a post of the debuts I’m looking forward to this year. And when I was trying to come up with books for it, I kept thinking of ones that weren’t debuts but books coming out that are part of my favorite series. Because series are so addicting. Anyway, here are some series books that I’m most excited for.

kings cageKing’ s Cage (Red Queen #3) by Victoria Aveyard
February 7th 2017

I’ve really enjoyed this series so far and really need to continue after the way Glass Sword ended. I’m a little frustrated though that there’s still one more book after this one, I just want to get to the epic conclusion already.

Rise of Fire (Reign of Shadows #2) by Sophie Jordan
February 7th 2017

Reign of Shadows wasn’t a favorite of mine, I believe I only gave it like three stars. Even so, the series has a pretty interesting premise and I love fairytale retellings so I do have a bit of hope for the sequel.

Last of August (Charlotte Holmes #2) by Brittany Cavallaro
February 14th 2017

I thought A Study in Charlotte was so good and like totally Sherlock. Brittany Cavallaro is actually going to be at a local bookstore of mine on tour for Last of August, so I plan getting my copy signed, which will be cool because I also got my copy of the first book signed.

Traitor to the Throne (Rebel of the Sands #2) by Alwyn Hamilton
March 7th 2017

This is another sequel for which I haven’t read the first book in the series. Either way, I’m hoping to read both Rebel of the Sands and Traitor to the Throne this year. The first book has been on my TBR since it has come out, not gonna lie at first mainly because of the gorgeous cover.

The Great Pursuit (Eurona Duology #2) by Wendy Higginsthe great pursuit
March 7th 2017

To me this is another highly underrated series. The first book was like just enough myth, darkness, magic, and hinting romance to hook me. Plus there’s a cool princess, one of my favorite tropes ever.

A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen #2) by Roshani Chokshi
March 28th 2017

Do I even need to explain this one? Roshani’s writing was so beautiful in The Star-Touched Queen that I’m craving more of it. This I believe is supposed to be more of a companion novel, telling the story of Maya’s sister Gauri. From what we saw of her in the first book, she is fierce and I’m so ready for that.

Avenged (Ruined #2) by Amy Tintera
May 2nd 2017

Okay, so I haven’t actually read the first book in this series but it sounds so good! To my understanding, this girl has watched her country get ravaged by war, her parents get killed and her sister get kidnapped. So she goes to the enemy kingdom and pretends to be the prince’s fiancé in order to enact her revenge. Beyond excited to read this.

A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas
May 2nd 2017

Because A Court of Mist and Fury destroyed me. I marathoned both ACOTAR and ACOMAF. Ending and not being able to read more completely destroyed me. I had such a hangover after finishing the books. I even reread parts of each. I need this book in my life like now.

always and forever lara jeanAlways and Forever, Lara Jean (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #3) by Jenny Han
May 2nd 2017

Lara Jean is so cute, I can’t. These contemporaries by Jenny Han have quickly become some of my favorites. I’m really glad Jenny Han decided to do another book even though she initially said it was going to be a duology.

The Ends of the World (The Conspiracy of Us #3) by Maggie Hall
July 18th 2017

This series is so underrated but so good. Maggie Hall’s series is like a CW version of Indiana Jones. I’m gonna need to reread the first two books though to refresh myself. Highly recommend this series.

Untitled (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas
September 5th 2017

I believe this is the last book in Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series. I’ve only read the first book, but maybe having all of them finally out will motivate me more and lessen the intimidation factor.

Ever the Brave (Ever the Hunted #2) by Erin Summerill
December 5th 2017

There have been some iffy reviews about Ever the Hunted being a bit cliched, but I enjoyed it greatly. I will agree that it was a bit cliche, but it fell in my wheelhouse. That and the ending showed such promise and drama for the next book.

let me know what series books you’re looking forward to this year in the comments, are any of them on my list?
Leave a Reply

