Review: Amy Sparling’s The Immortal Mark

immortal markTitle: The Immortal Mark
Series: The Immortal Mark
Author: Amy Sparling
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy
Publication Date: January 31st, 2017
Rating: 

purple3

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review.

Cara just turned eighteen, and instead of a party or some gift cards she gets the notice that she has to move out of her uncle’s house. College isn’t an option for her, and she and her best friend Riley are a couple paychecks away from being able to afford rent for an apartment.  But then  Riley finds them a mysterious  job opportunity that includes big money and  room and board.

When Cara shows up to interview, she runs into Theo—the hot guy she met at the pier the night before and had an instant connection with. Except now he’s cold and elusive, telling her she shouldn’t take the job. Of course she takes it anyway, it’s an opportunity too good to pass up and Cara soon learns why—her millionaire employers are immortals and the girls they hire never make it out alive.

The premise of The Immortal Mark is very interesting, it kind of reminds me of like a The Secret Circle or Fledgling scenario. There are these immortals who live in like secret groups or “clans,” but they’re not naturally immortal they have to do some pretty shady and dangerous stuff to stay immortal.

That being said, I feel like things are both rushed and too prolonged. That’s very contradictory so let me  explain. Basically, I feel like this whole book could’ve been condensed and been like the first half of a book. Actually, I don’t have a page number but this book wasn’t that long so like it doesn’t even need to be shortened that much. It just didn’t feel like too much happened. The book felt like a filler middle book instead of the first in a series. So, I wanted things to be less prolonged in this aspect.

Where I felt like things were rushed was the romance. It’s a little insta-love for me. The feelings got too intense between Cara and Theo too quick. I think they can like just start liking each other and have things play out the same way. What also seemed rush was the girls blatant expectancy of the job and whole immortal aspect. I wanted them to be a bit more skeptical cause it sounds like a scam.

This is part of the fantasy genre kind of, and when reading the fantasy genre you have to be able to suspend your disbelief. It just felt like I had to do that a bit more with this book.

I think you can get my thoughts about the characters kind of from what I already said. I liked Cara and the situation she was put in. She’s been passed around in foster homes, lived with an uncle that couldn’t really support her, it’s been hard and it was nice to read a character that’s experienced that. Plus, I like her personality of being a little bit more reserved. But, repeating what I said earlier she just isn’t like street smart enough for me as someone who’s experienced the life she has but then naively takes this job. Same goes for her best friend Riley, who’s basically her total opposite.

Then there’s the love interest Theo. Again, like I said the insta-love is a little too much for me. I liked him, I just don’t think he always took the best approach to trying to tell Cara not to join the company. He sends a lot of mixed signals. And he’s immortal, so I’m a little concerned how there relationship will be able to be like a thing.

Overall, I like Sparling’s writing. I’ve read a couple of her contemporaries and it’s the same style, very easily read and definitely in the young adult voice. The Immortal Mark is available on Amazon and you can find the author at amysparling.blogspot.com. Give it a read and let me know what you think in the comments. Plus leave recommendations for my next book!

Leave a Reply

