Review: Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Mist and Fury

court of mist and furyTitle: A Court of Mist and Fury 
Series: A Court of Thorns of Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: 
New Adult Fiction, Fantasy
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016
Pages: 
624
Publisher:
 Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Rating: 

black5

Feyre survived Amarantha’s torture to return to the Spring Court. More than survived, she became a High Fae. But at a steep cost. Because she can’t forget the terrible things that  she did under the mountain.

She also can’t forget her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. But while Feyre might think of Rhysand as her enemy, a greater evil is rising and and she might be key to stopping it.

I LOVED this book. I couldn’t put it down. Like I thought I loved the first book. But it paled in comparison to this one. If you read the first book and were like “eh” I suggest giving the sequel a chance. I think I might have to write a discussion or something because I try to keep these reviews like spoiler free, but really I just need to vent and rant my feels about this book. Like it’s been a week maybe since I read it, and I still am all messed up about it. My heart.

There was so much more world building in this book. Like I thought the role building in the last book was on point, but this one was so much better. We got to see so much of Pythian and the courts. The only thing that I’m still a little unsure about is some of the magic and “The Cauldron.” I might have like forgotten or skimmed over to get to more fun scenes, but I don’t remember totally the importance of “The Cauldron” in the magic system.

There is a handful of new characters in A Court of Mist and Fury. I don’t want to reveal who they are for spoiler reasons, but they are so freaking great. I loved all of them. They’re so precious to me.

But let me backtrack to some old characters. First and foremost there’s Feyre. She just has so much character development in this book: from the first book to the post traumatic stress she faces after the mountain, to coming back from that. Like she becomes her own in this book, and while I really liked her in the first book I loved her in this one.

Then there’s Tamlin. He’s also suffering after what happened under the mountain, and it just really affects his character. Just in a completely different way than it affects Feyre. A lot of people say he’s out of character in this book, but I actually believed his actions. I kind of looked back at A Court of Thorns and Roses and could see underlying characteristics of the personality that he shows in the sequel.

To round out the main character’s we have Rhysand, the High Lord of the Night Court. I was so intrigued by him in A Court of Thorns and Roses, but we don’t get a ton from him and what we do get isn’t all that great until that last scene with Amarantha where he defends Feyre. Going into this book you know he’s going to pop up because there’s the deal he struck with Feyre where he gets her at the Night Court one week out of the year. kxjfkdjf

I thought the beginning was a little slow, I just wanted to get into it but later I understood why everything that happened in the beginning took up that many pages. Also, just something that I was like “what?” about in the beginning was how we start right away three months after the mountain. I was a little thrown off at first. Then in terms of pacing there’s also the end, like so much happens in that last fifty pages. It was just crazy.

Maas’ writing is truly superb though. Like dreamy. Her descriptions and scenes are dreamy. Some of those scenes are also very steamy. I mentioned this in my review for A Court of Thorns and Roses, but this series is definitely new adult. This book specifically. And her dialogue, don’t even get me started. The best dialogue I’ve read in a while.

Just so good. Nothing else I can say. Fantastic. Amazing. I can’t. You can find it on Amazon and the author at sarahjmaas.com.

LET ME KNOW YOUR THOUGHTS ON A COURT OF mist and fury IN THE COMMENTS AND GIVE ME RECS FOR THE NEXT BOOK I SHOULD READ!
12 thoughts on “Review: Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Mist and Fury

  1. Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

    I literally just headed to the comments-section without reading a word because I don’t want to get spoiled. I’m so damn excited to read this book, it’s literally killing me. I’ve been spoiled a couple of times (and I’m pretty good at avoiding spoilers, so that’s saying something). BUT I did catch a “I LOVED this book. I couldn’t put it down” so that just does it for me. I’ll bookmark your post so I can read it after I get the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. michelejennifer says:

    I feel like she does that whole last 50 pages thing in all of her books lol. I can usually spend a day or two getting into the first little bit of the book, and then I finish the last 60% of the book in one sitting because it just keeps ramping up.
    I loved that this ended up being a heist story, though. I’ve got a soft spot for a good heist story.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amber says:

    I would love to see a spoiler discussion from you on this book. I absolutely loved it. and Rhys is my new beloved book boyfriend. He’s so sexy and just ugh ❤ I felt the same about the books. Like I really enjoyed the first book. I thought it was interesting. I actually liked Tamlin and heard about the love triangle and was like "I don't want to read the second book. I don't want to hate Tamlin…" but I did it anyways because everyone said it was way better. Thus, I read it and was completely blown away. The new characters are way better and the story was way better and I just loved everything *end of gushing* haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

