Review: Leigh Bardugo’s Seige and Storm

siege and stormTitle: Siege and Storm
Series: The Grisha
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy
Publication Date: June 4th, 2013
Pages: 
435
Publisher:
 Henry Holt and Company
Rating: 

black4.5

Siege and Storm is the second book in Leigh Bardugo’s The Grisha trilogy. Fair warning that this will have spoilers if you haven’t read the first book, which you can read my review for here.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan. And while Alina has escaped with Mal across the True Sea, she can’t escape her destiny.  With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But the more power she uses and seeks, the darker she turns, and further she pushes away those she loves.

I think Siege and Storm is infinitely better than the first book Shadow and Bone. It’s a bit filler-y for the final book, but overall the pacing is a lot better and some great new characters are introduced. 

I’m going to start with pacing. I didn’t particularly like how the book started off. Like what happens right at the beginning just seemed to happen so quick, our protagonist didn’t have any time. I know that’s vague, but I’m trying to avoid spoilers. But besides that, the pacing for the book really worked for me. It didn’t drag on, which was good and something different than what I felt at times during the first book. I think the second half is where Siege and Storm really shined.

Then there’s the characters. Touching back on old characters, my feelings kind of changed about some of them.

I enjoyed Alina a lot more in this book. She’s not whiney anymore and that shallowness I saw is gone. Instead, she’s a lot more dimensional. Alina is dealing with the reality of her power, what she’s done, her connection to the Darkling, and there’s just a lot of darkness and inner turmoil there that is really powerful.

Mal bothered me in this book. I liked him by the end of the last book, but in Siege and Storm he’s not very understanding with Alina and isn’t really okay with her as she is and that bothered me. There’s not great communication going on between them, and he really pissed me off with both his words and his actions. He’s just so moody.

The Darkling isn’t physically present in this book that much. But I was okay with taking a break from him really, the emotional grasp and after effect he has on Alina was enough for me. His character really seems to stay the same though.

Now new characters! There were so many great new characters in this sequel. I’m going to start with Sturmhond. He’s this very powerful privateer that helps Alina and Mal. He’s witty, cunning, inventive, and has the best dialogue. But beyond that, he has some serious secrets.

Then there’s Toyla and Tamar. They’re brother and sister and part of the privateer’s crew. I loved their personalities. Toyla is this huge giant of a man. But he says very little. Then there’s his sister. Tamar is beyond fierce. These two really support Alina and become great—I would go so far as to say—friends.

Like I said, this book is a little bit filler-ish for the final book. It doesn’t have a super intricate plot. Instead, it’s more character and emotion based. That being said, there are a couple great plot twists and turns in this book.

Siege and Storm is a sequel that actually in my opinion surpass the first book. And it’s setting up for hopefully an epic finale. It is available on Amazon and you can find the author at leighbardugo.com. Give it a read and let me know what you think in the comments. Plus leave recommendations for my next book!

Leave a Reply

