My 2017 Goals: Bookish, Blogging, & Life

goals

Last year was my first real year of blogging, and I don’t think I was fully prepared for it and kind of learned as I went. It was also my first year doing some serious reading, surpassing my Goodreads goal of a hundred books. And it was the first half of my senior year of college, meaning I’m graduating this spring.

Because of all that, I really want to lay out some goals for the new year. I’m hoping that writing them down, and especially putting them out there in the world will make me more accountable. 

Blogging Goals

1. post at least one review a week

Towards the end of last year I really started slacking when it came to reviewing. I was reading books, but I just never put in the effort to write a review. They’re honestly sometimes the most daunting posts for me. Especially if I’ve read like three or four books and haven’t reviewed any of them. So this year I’m going to try to at least write one review a week, really good would be like two a week.

2. interact more

I feel like interaction with other bloggers is the first thing to go when I get overwhelmed, or even something I forget about sometimes when I’m not. This year I want to make sure I’m interacting more. This means replying back to people who take the time to comment on my posts, but also making sure I make more meaningful comments on bloggers posts that I do follow and read instead of just doing nothing or just liking it. I know I love when people take the time to comment on my post, and I want to do the same. 

3. more original posts

I hit a point in 2016 where I felt like all I was doing was tags and memes. While I enjoy doing those, I want to start brainstorming more original posts and discussions for this year. 

4. work on my graphic/image skills and integration

Graphics and images I personally feel like have been lacking and could really add a lot. They haven’t really been using them that much because it’s not my strong suit, but I want to learn and improve. 

Reading Goals

1. reach my goodreads goal of 125

I reached 115 this past year, and I wanted to up it a little bit. I’m hoping this is manageable. I’m graduating in May and don’t really know what I’ll be doing or where I’ll be yet so we’ll see. 

2. Read more DIVERSELY

I feel like everyone should be taking aim to read more diversely. This is just so important. I’m starting off the year actually with doing the #DAREADATHON, which focuses on diverse books. 

3. read the books I already have before buying new ones

I have so many books on my shelves that I haven’t read yet. I need to put a hold on book buying and get to those first.

4. read more classics

Pretty self-explanatory. I’ve read a couple classics, but I feel like I really need to broaden my horizons. 

Life Goals

1. drink more water

I used to be so good at drinking water, and this year I fell short. I just know I feel so much better if I’m drinking water and hydrated. 

2. EXERCISE three times a week

I know this seems like such a typical new year resolution, but it’s something I really want to focus on. I’m pretty active during the summer, but once winter, fall, and school start up I’m super sluggish. I’ve been working out over break and want to keep that momentum into the new school year. 

3. Stay organized and use planner

I’m typically pretty organized and do use a planner, but I jut want to be even more so this year. I don’t have a lot of time and really need to keep myself on schedule, especially since I’m going to have to start job hunting and such soon. 

4. don’t get stressed unnecessarily 

I get stressed a lot. Sometimes it’s warranted. Sometimes it’s not. I don’t know if anyone else experiences that, when you’re just stressing yourself out more for like no legitimate reason. I want to cut back if not completely stop doing that to myself this year. I’ll just feel so much better mentally.

like always Let me know what you think and what some of your goals for the new year are in the comments!

11 thoughts on “My 2017 Goals: Bookish, Blogging, & Life

  1. ashley says:

    I share some of the same goals that you have. If you want to get better at commenting you should try the Comment Challenge hosted by Alicia from A Kernel of Nonsense..

    Like

  2. jadedeverafter says:

    I got really slack on my blog so I need to get better at it this year. I’m also thinking about using a planner to keep track of everything. Additionally I’m going to keep a book journal, I started using one last year, just jotting down a few thoughts with my rating and why I picked it up to begin with. I find that helps with reviews! Good luck this year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lindsey @ paradisbooks says:

      Yes! I’ve done a version of the book journal/planner before. I’d write just like initial thoughts and rating of books after reading them on a post it. And the I use a google sheet as like a planner for my blog, it works for me cause I can edit it as I go

      Like

Leave a Reply

