End of Year Book Survey

I’ve been trying to figure out a good way to wrap up my year reading and blogging, and have seen this survey created by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner going around. It really covers everything. If you’re interested, you can go to Jamie’s post and link up your answers. I apologize ahead of time if I get a little repetitive with my picks, also I know this post looks long but it’s mostly just cove images.

2016-reading-stats-3

Number Of Books You Read: I ended up reading 115 books. I’m really proud of myself, I haven’t done the challenge before but I know that’s the most I’ve read in a year.
Number of Re-Reads: I re-read six books this year. They were the Percy Jackson and the Olympian books along with Anna and the French Kiss.
Genre You Read The Most From: I read a lot of fantasy this year.

2016-reading-stats-4

1. Best book you read in 2016?

I’m actually going to do a post on this within the next week, but just a teaser of a couple of my best books:

the beauty of darkness saint anything 23174274

2. Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

reign of shadows falconer

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

conspiracy of us a study in charlotte the great hunt

All of these were surprising in the best way. I expected to like them when I picked them up, but I truly loved them.

 4. Book you “pushed” the most people to read (and they did)?

milk and honey

I believe Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews read this after I did my review, also I’ve just pushed this book in a lot of my posts. But it’s like so good so.

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

                                              Best series started                             Best sequel

star touched queen heart of betrayal

Best series ender

Winter_Cover

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Just to name a few: Morgan Matson, Marissa Meyer, and Sarah J. Maas. They’re not new to the publishing world, but new to me.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

illuminae cinder

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

 the beauty of darkness throne of glass illuminae

9. Book you read in 2016 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

fangirl

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

winner's curse map of fates

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

I honestly can’t pick for this one. I’ve read too many good and vastly different characters to even fathom picking.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

the wrath and the dawn star touched queen

13. Most thought-provoking/life-changing book of 2016?

milk and honey

  14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

throne of glass

 15. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2016? 

This is so hard to choose, there’s so many books I’ve read and so many great quotes, but here’s one I really liked from The Unexpected Everything. Besides that, The Wrath and the Dawn and The Star-Touched Queen had a lot of beautiful quotes and language.

“You have to try. You have to take your chances. Go and attempt and see what happens. And even if you fail – especially if you fail – come back with your experience and your hard-won knowledge and a story you can tell. And then later you can say, without regret or hesitation… ‘Once, I dared to dare greatly”

16.Shortest and longest book you read in 2016?

screen-shot-2017-01-04-at-11-26-25-am

17. Book that shocked you the most?

red queen

18. OTP OF THE YEAR?

I honestly don’t know. I think my go to is Percy and Annabeth, which I finally got to see in real life when I read The Heroes of Olympus series this year.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

blood of olympus unexpected everything

20. Favorite book you read in 2016 from an author you’ve read previously?

fangirl saint anything

21. Best book you read in 2016 that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody else/peer pressure: 

throne of glass

Because basically all of the book community was freaking out about this series that I needed to.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

the wrath and the dawn Cress the lost hero

I know some people have problems with the relationship in The Wrath & The Dawn, but Khalid really melted my heart. Also, Thorne from Cress is like the best. And then Leo. I just love funny guys.

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

star touched queen ever the hunted

24. Best world building/most vivid setting you read this year?

 star touched queen the wrath and the dawn

25. Book that put a smile on your face/was the most fun to read?

 something different my life next door

26. Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2016?

ill give you the sun all the bright places

27. Hidden gem of the year?

curse of the sphinx

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

See the books that made me cry.

29. Most unique book you read in 2016?

illuminae

30. Book that mad you the most mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

kiss of deception

Only because I spent so long trying to figure out who was the assassin and who was the prince. Honestly, this book is such a mind screw. A great, beautifully written mind screw.

2016-reading-stats-5

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

This is just a short list, I know there are a lot more amazing blogs out there I follow and like. But like a girl can only remember so much off the top of her head.

Book bloggers:

Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews  • Alex @ WhimsyPages • Lottie @ Novellique • Ashley @ Inside My Minds • Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads • Beth @ Divine World of Books • Darnell @ darnellouis • Rachel @ Life of a Female Bibliophile • Kirsty @ Kirsty’s Book Reviews • Kirsty @ Kirsty and the Cat Read  • Flavia @ Flavia the Bibliophile

Booktubers:

A Clockwork Reader • abookutopia •  jesssethereader • Katytastic • PeruseProject •  ReadLikeWildfire • Flipping Through Pages • Hailey in Bookend • polandbananaBooks

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

Review: Marissa Meyer’s Cinder
Review: Rupi Kaur’s Milk and Honey
Review: Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen ( my first review on this blog!)

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

The Ones that Got Away 
Favorite YA Cover With Girls In Gowns
My 9 Favorite New Adult Reads

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I went to the Boston Teen Author Festival for the first time and had a great time. There were a bunch of panels and then signings. I definitely want to go next year if I’m still in the city.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

I think just having some consistent back and forth with people commenting on my blog and commenting on their’s. Also, when I posted and tweeted my The Remnant Chronicles reviews and Mary E. Pearson responded. Oh and just being reached out to by independent authors to read and review their books.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Just posting and commenting frequently. School and life get overwhelming sometimes, and I either don’t have the time to blog or don’t have the will to.

7. Most popular post this year on your blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

The Bookish Booklover Tag
Top 5 Wednesday: Books You’reIntimidated By
#ReadThemAllThon TBR

8. Post you wish got a little more love

I can’t really think of anything. I’m honestly just grateful and still pretty humbled that people like reading my blog and put the time in.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Bookish candles for sure. They have become my obsession.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I actually surpassed my Goodreads challenge!

screen-shot-2017-01-04-at-12-10-45-pm

2016-reading-stats-7

1. One book you didn’t get to in 2016 but will be your number one priority in 2017?

torch against the night

2. Book you are most anticipating for 2017 (non-debut)?

kings cage flame in the mist

3. 2017 debut you are most anticipating?

geekerella

 4. Series ending/sequel you are most anticipating in 2017?

court of wings and ruin

5. One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging life in 2017?

  • Finish some series
  • Review more of the books I read
  • More original posts
  • More/better graphics/images

6. A 2017 release you’ve already read and recommend to everyone:

myths of immortality

I definitely suggest this whole series to anyone who likes Percy Jackson. It’s super mythology based and just a little bit more young adult than that series.

 

Thanks to anyone who made it this far!

I’d love to hear your feedback like alwasy! Have a good new year!

 

12 thoughts on “End of Year Book Survey

  1. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads says:

    You were at the Boston Teen Author Festival?! I went too!! I had a lot of fun and died a little when I got to meet Roshani Chokshi. I haven’t even read her book yet, but I’m pretty much in love with her hahaha
    Thank you so much for mentioning me/my blog ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    So glad you posted that review for milk and honey, haha! I loved that book SO much. I’m so glad to see that you enjoyed Illuminae despite it not really being a genre you read. That’s one of my favourites. I’m hoping to read Red Queen this year. I keep hearing so much about it and I really want to know what I’m going to think of it.

    Thanks so much for mentioning me ♥ You and your blog are both so great!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kirstyreadsblog says:

    Awwww I’m so happy you like my blog 🙂 You’re one of the first people I’ve seen talk about Curse of the Sphinx so I’m intrigued to see what I think about it as I got it a few months ago but haven’t got around to it. Also since you dropped to being a wordpress blog without the paid for URL all your pingbacks have just started working and I was like “wtf why is she tagging me in so many things” hahahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    • lindsey @ paradisbooks says:

      Haha yeah sorry about that, some of my images got broken after transferring and I’ve been going back and fixing them but they keep pingbacking people again. And Curse of the Sphinx is definitely an interesting series, especially if you like Percy Jackson. It doesn’t have the same scale or humor but the mythology use is comparable.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

