Review: Mckayla Robbin’s We Carry the Sky

we carry the skyTitle: We Carry the Sky
Author: Mckayla Robbin
Genre: 
Poetry
Publication Date: December 5, 2016
Pages: 158
Publisher:
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Rating: 

black4

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review.

I’ve been really interested in contemporary poetry after reading Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur and The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace. Both collections really hit home for me and made me feel. So I was excited when author Mckayla Robbin reached out to me about reading and reviewing We Carry the Sky. 

I devoured this book in one sitting. Robbin’s poems are short but force you to feel. Split into four different sections they deal with a lot of different themes. I found the first and second parts to be largely focused on feminism and one’s identity as a woman. Robbin also brought current events and politics into this. She touches on the hate and sexism that has invaded our country. And it felt really empowering to me. 

The third section of the collection deals mostly with loss and heartbreak. It’s tone is a mix of melancholy and instructional. Robbin is guiding the reader on how to deal with heartbreak: “for this i recommend/you make/a standing appointment/every tuesday/at two o’clock/with a cup of tea/and a good cry.”

The last part I think just might be my favorite. It’s about putting oneself back together and loving oneself: “i am pushing my bones back into my body/gently/gently now.”

I adored We Carry the Sky. Anyone who enjoyed Kaur or Lovelace should definitely pick it up. Really any woman out there looking to make a connection or find some wisdom should pick it up. You can find Robbin on her website and We Carry the Sky is for sale on Amazon. Give it a read and let me know what you think in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Review: Mckayla Robbin’s We Carry the Sky

Leave a Reply

