Review: Raye Wagner’s Myths of Immortality

29412228Title: Myths of Immortality
Series: The Sphinx 
Author: Raye Wagner
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Mythology
Publication Date: January 12, 2017
Publisher:
 R. Wagner
Rating: 

black4

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review

Myths of Immortality is the third book in Raye Wagner’s Greek mythology The Sphinx series. Fair warning that this will have spoilers if you haven’t read the first two books, which you can read my reviews for here and here.

Hope Nicholas is desperate to believe that she can be set free from the bindings of Apollo’s curse. But to find out how, she must travel to the Underworld. The gods there have their own agendas, and Hope must tread carefully.

Athan spent months chasing Hope, only to have her disappear once again. And when he discovers her destination, he knows he can’t journey to the Underworld alone. Forced to put aside his past with Xan and Dahlia, the three demigods embark on their own quest.

I mentioned in my Demigods and Monsters review that I couldn’t wait for the next book, Myths of Immortality didn’t disappoint. Told in duel point-of-view, it is a truly gripping adventure story. 

Hope really continued to grow in this story. I think her venturing into the Underworld herself was very brave. And I really liked how she’s trying to break the curse for herself and the ability to make her own choices. It’s not all about being with some boy—even though she does have Athan in mind.

Athan was so-so for me in this book. Despite him being the second point-of-view narrator and the courage it takes him to journey into the Underworld , I didn’t think anything was super compelling about his personality in the book. While everyone is kind of changing and growing, to me he seemed the same as in the previous book.

I said in my last review, that I was somewhat indifferent to Xan. That changed after reading Myths of Immortality. His fierceness and passion really got to me. I don’t think there’s anymore questioning his motives.

Then there were all of the gods in this book. We get introduced to a couple new ones, and I have to say I really love how Wagner plays with their personalities. That’s one of my favorite things in the Percy Jackson books, and I think it was done just as well in this series. I think my favorite gods in this book were Hades and Persephone, their story gets turned on its head a bit.

This books ends in such an unexpected way, and I’m beyond excited for the next one.

You can check out author Raye Wagner at rayewagner.com and pick up Myths of Immortality on Amazon, out on January 12, 2017! Let me know what you think in the comments. Plus leave recommendations for my next book!

Leave a Reply

