Top 5 Wednesday: Series That Got Worse

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is the top five series that you thought got worse as they went on. This is not to say that the second or third books were bad, it’s just I didn’t enjoy them as much as the first. Let me know what your top five are in the comments! 

1. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkinshex hall

I started this series hesitant, paranormal isn’t really my thing. Yet, I enjoyed the first book a lot. Parts of it were a bit over the top, but it was fun and quip-y. But then it got too over the top in the second and third books. Everything was just ramped up to the hundredth degree, and there were so many just unnecessary and ridiculous plot twists.

2. The Selection by Kiera Cass

I loved the first three selection books. Here I’m talking about the fourth book The Heir (because I haven’t yet read the fifth). For those of you who don’t know, fourth and fourth books of this series are spin offs with a different set of characters. And it’s not like I didn’t like The Heir, it was just a bit disappointing after the series with America and Maxon. I didn’t connect with the characters the same and probably just would’ve preferred it ending. 
3. The 100 by Kass Morgan

I rarely say this, but I like the television show so much more. I mean from the beginning the plot and characters of the show were different but still. Honestly, I don’t remember too much about this series, and I fee like that says something.

rebel belle24. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins
I feel bad mentioning Rachel Hawkins twice on this list, but here I am. First, I just want to say I’ve only read the first two books of this series. I read Rebel Belle and loved it. The whole thing was just a ton of fun—the plot, Harper, David, everything. But then things just got a little disorganized and extra messy for me in the second book. I got so annoyed with some of the characters. Here’s hoping I’ll enjoy the third book more when I get to it.

5. Record of the Ohanzee by Rachel R. Smith

I have a bit of back and forth with this series. It’s told in a serialized style, so each individual book doesn’t really have the typical elements of plot—rising action, climax, falling action, conclusion, or cliffhanger. The first book, Stranger in the Mirror, I rated as a three-point-five. I was just getting into the story and felt like I didn’t have enough yet. Then, the second book Harbinger of the Phoenix, I rated a four. Things were moving along. But for Thorn of the White Rose, the third book, my rating dropped down to a three. Because of the serialized style it felt too much like a filler. Hoping things will wrap up in the fourth book though, and I’ll be more engaged.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Series That Got Worse

Leave a Reply

