Top 5 Wednesday: 2017 Reads

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is the top five books you want to read in 2017. Let me know what your top five are in the comments!

court thorns and roses1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

So much hype, so much love, and so many references to this series I don’t understand. I want t get on this Maas series before it’s like five books in, that way I’m not overwhelmed. I’m really interested in the romance of this book, I know a lot of people really love and ship it. Also curious about the Fae world, I haven’t gotten to that part in Throne of Glass yet and I just don’t know that much about that realm of fantasy.

2. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

The Throne of Glass books are taunting me I swear. I just want to understand everyone’s feeling and references. Okay, so I read Throne of Glass this past summer and really enjoyed it. At the time though, I didn’t have any other books in the series. I’ve now had Crown of Midnight in my possession for quite a while and haven’t picked it up. I’m still intimidated by the hype honestly and by how much time this book/series is going to take me to read.

3. The Brief Wondrous  Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

I was really talking up how much I wanted to read this book in earlier this year. So much so, that my boyfriend got it for me as a birthday present back in February. I was super determined to start reading it right then and there, but alas it is still sitting on my shelves unread.

winner's crime 4. The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

I really enjoyed the first book in this series when I picked it up this past summer. I recently found the second book on BookOutlet and bought it. I’m hoping to read The Winner’s Crime early this year, otherwise I’m afraid if I spend too much time away from the series I’ll never bother finishing it.

5. A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

This was one of my most anticipated reads of 2016. I didn’t actually get to it this year though, despite rereading Ember in preparation. I’ve heard nothing but great things. I’m hoping to get this book for Christmas, either as a present from someone or a present to myself.

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: 2017 Reads

Leave a Reply

