Top 5 Wednesdays: Favorite Villains

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is the top five favorite villains. Let me know what your top five are in the comments!

Winter_Cover1. Queen Levana from The Lunar Chronicles

Levana was scary with just her general personality, but then throw in her Lunar ability to control people and she’s horrifying. I haven’t read Fairest yet, which is her origin story I believe. I’m afraid it will make me feel some sort of sympathy for her. But then again, complex villains are the best kind of villains.

2. Duke Perrington from Throne of Glass

Honestly, I’ve only read the first book so I can’t tell if he’s going to be the main villain or not yet, but I do know from the first book alone he was pretty creepy. Just the magic he used and the control he had. Plus, it seems like he has something going on with the King who is just as evil.

3. Black Jack Randall from Outlander

All of these other villains I’ve picked are from books set in some sort of fantasy or dystopian society. Randall is not, he’s from the real world. This makes him and his actions even more disturbing. I’d like to say he’s possibly the worst on this list just because of the way her personally attacks people in this book and the violence he inflicts upon them.

kiss of deception4. The Komizar from The Remnant Chronicles

I loved the description of the “barbarian” country of Venda in this series. Venda is ruled by the Komizar, who came into power by murdering the previous Komizar. He is ruthless and plotting to overtake all other kingdoms. The whole second half of the series I was truly afraid for Lia.

5. Gaea from The Heroes of Olympus

Gaea is such a presence in this series even though she’s not an actual physical form. I think that makes her more intimidating because she’s literally the earth. Earth is everywhere, meaning that she can appear and attack them at any time really. Just her control and power really freaked me out.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesdays: Favorite Villains

Leave a Reply

