Review: Rachel Hawkins’ Spell Bound

hex hall spell boundTitle: Spell Bound
Series: Hex Hall
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Paranormal
Publication Date: March 13th, 2012
Pages: 
327
Publisher:
Hyperion Book CH
Rating: 

black3

Just so you know, this review will have spoilers if you haven’t read the first two books of the series.

Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of the Brannicks—a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. She thought they were her enemy, that is until a surprising discovery. She must work with the Brannicks to stop the raising of demons and a war, but without her magic Sophie isn’t sure she can do it.

This is gonna be a kind of mini-review, as I read this book over a week ago now and forgot to take notes. But, I wanted to post some of my thoughts since I reviewed the other two books in the series.

There were some plot twists in this book that seemed unnecessary—normally I feel like saying there are plot twists can be spoiler-y, but like this whole series is plot twists and you should know that by now. Anyway, this  end of the series and the twists made things so convoluted. They really only seemed to be there as plot devices to get certain people in the same space or events in motion. I could’ve done without that and some more thought on the part of the author on how to get everything in motion.

The timespan of this book was also a little weird. It seems short, but it’s actually long because Sophie loses some time at the beginning. I feel like that was again, unnecessary.

This was part of Demonglass as well, but Elodie comes back as a ghost. She hangs around Sophie and “haunts” her, but really helps her. I enjoyed having her around because her attitude was sassy and refreshing, but again I feel like she’s just a plot device. She’s just there to give Sophie her magic at points when Sophie doesn’t have magic. I’m very conflicted about her.

Okay, so I know so far my review makes it sound like I didn’t like this book. But, I did. It’s not in my top ten or anything, but it is definitely a fun, quick, guilty pleasure read. One of my favorite things in Spell Bound in particular, was the camaraderie between Jenna, Archer, Cal, and Sophie.

You can find Spell Bound  on Amazon and the author Rachel Hawkins at therealladyhawkins.tumblr.com. Give it a read and let me know what you think in the comments. Plus leave recommendations for my next book!

Remember to check me out on my social media accounts:

Goodreads

Twitter

Instagram

Leave a Reply

