Review: Amy Sparling’s When Zoey Fell Too Far

when zoey fell too farTitle: When Zoey Fell Too Far
Author:Amy Sparling
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary
Publication Date: October 18, 2016
Pages: 
165
Publisher:
Amy Sparling Books
Rating: 
pink3

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review

Zoey Caplan has led a sheltered life, but it’s never really bothered her. That is until she ends up on her school’s dis list as biggest prude. Fed up with being a loser, Zoey decides to experience all those things she’s missed out on. Now she’s partying, drinking, ditching class, and hooking up. But the one guy she wants—Jonah Thedford—isn’t interested in that. And it seems all fun, until she ends up on the dis list as biggest slut.

This is a quick and cute young adult contemporary. I found myself almost done after my train ride to and from school. The pacing is perfect and writing very clean. The prose isn’t poetic or flowery, it’s simple but completely perfect for this kind of story.

I really self identified with the main character Zoey. But even so, there were a couple moments when I believed that a girl in high school who previously seems so smart would not do such stupid stuff (maybe I was just too much of a stick in the mud in high school).

Basically, Zoey feels like she’s never noticed. And then when she is noticed, it’s for being the school’s biggest prude. Of course, this is super embarrassing and she sets out to combat this image. I’m totally on board with this. I’m all like yes, where whatever clothes you want even if they’re revealing. Flirt with boys if you want. In my mind I was reading for like an Easy A scenario.

But, then I feel like Zoey takes it way too far.

Also, there were points when she frustrated the hell out of me. But, I mean these were also moments when she was definitely supposed to frustrate the hell out of me. Girl who is so smart, stop being so stupid.

She does some things as well as lets things happen to her (especially sexually) that I just don’t think a girl would put up with unless she wants to–and I don’t think she does.

Then there’s Jonah. The sweet bad boy. A huge contradiction, but one I love. I needed more page time with him and Zoey, not only because I feel like their relationship was very surface but because while he was cute and sweet he wasn’t totally rounded out as a character.

Dana is Zoey’s best friend and cousin. I enjoyed her, but she seemed to fall out of the story in the second half. I wanted her to be there for Zoey more, and even though Zoey wasn’t telling her what was going on I wanted her to know. If they’re so close there definitely should have been some push and instinct there.

When Zoey Fell Too Far is available on Amazon and you can find the author at amysparling.blogspot.com. Give it a read and let me know what you think in the comments. Plus leave recommendations for my next book!

Remember to check me out on my social media accounts:

Goodreads

Twitter

Instagram

Leave a Reply

