Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Want as TV Shows

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is your top five books you want as television shows. Let me know what your top five are in the comments!

anna and the french kiss1. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

I can easily picture Anna and the French Kiss on The CW. I mean having a television show set in Paris would be absolutely adorable—it’d be like a french The Carrie Diaries. Then each book in the series could be a different season. I just think it’d be cute and fun and an overall good time like the books.

2. The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

I actually mentioned having this as an adaptation the other week in my Book Adaptation Wishlist Tag. I think this is another one that could make it on The CW. It’s fun, flirty, drama-filled, fast-paced, and spans continents. Seeing one episode set in London and then next in Germany or India would be crazy. The characters in this series are so good and would translate great to television.

3. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

Once again, another cute and fun book series that I think would go great on The CW. Or I guess any of these would be cool as a made-for-Netflix show. I mean some of the dialogue in this is gold. It’s not a book that takes itself all too seriously, and I think the show would have to do the same. That being said, like it would be a great young adult comedy.

throne of glass4. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Okay, so I made this list and post before the Hulu news came out. But see, I was right. This series always gets compared to GOT because of the fantasy setting but also the size, I think with the right network and budget this series can really work on television. I’m a little nervous though if not enough is given to this series it could fall flat.

5. Maybe The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson or Jackaby by William Ritter

I think the series might make a better movie franchise, but still it could be very similar style to The CW’s Reign—just a little less ridiculous and court centered for the first season. Or maybe Jackaby by William Ritter. I haven’t read the book yet, but I’ve seen it advertised as Sherlock mixed with Buffy and that’d be a show I’d watch.

Leave a Reply

