Review: Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass

throne of glassTitle: Throne of Glass
Series: Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy
Publication Date: August 7th, 2012
Pages: 
404
Publisher:
 Bloomsbury USA Children’s
Rating: 

purple4

After serving a year in Adarlan’s harshest labor camp, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. He offers her freedom in exchange for her acting as his champion in a competition to become the royal assassin.

She will face of against men who are thieves, murderers, and warriors all supported by members of the king’s council. But it turns out the completion isn’t the most dangerous part of being at court, soon other contestants end up dead in the most gruesome positions. Celeana must investigate to avoid the same fate, and her search leads her to a greater destiny than she ever imagined.

I know I’m super late to the Sarah J. Maas party, but please bear with me.

Sarah J. Maas’ writing is beautiful and really fits with high fantasy genre. The book is told in third person and includes point-of-view changes. It usually revolves around Celaena, but occasionally there is a section or paragraph from a different pov. The pacing in Throne of Glass is on point. Nothing is rushed, but I also didn’t feel like I was struggling to get to the next chapter. I also have to praise Sarah J. Maas’ dialogue—so so good.

The setting of a medieval-esque kingdom and castle at first seems very typical. But the situation the kingdom of Adarlan is in quickly sets it apart. Basically, Adarlan is ruled by a bloodthirsty king who has overtaken almost all the other kingdoms. I liked that we were placed in “bad” kingdom, because it creates tension and conflict for a lot of the characters there.

The world Mass’ creates also includes magic. I wasn’t expecting magic or myths really in this story when I started it. But, then there were mentions of how magic has vanished along with the Faes and such. There’s just a taste of it in this novel, but it sounds super intruiging and I can’t wait to see where she goes with it.

All of the characters in this book were very fleshed out. Even minor characters had very distinct and purposeful roles.

Celaena is obviously the main character. I love her. She’s driven, stubborn, and super witty. Like her dialogue is so sarcastic and perfect. I just think she’s amazing. I mean, she’s this eighteen-year-old assassin who can plot and execute peoples’ deaths in ways I can’t even fathom. She’s also developed really well. At the beginning of the novel Celaena’s leaving the death camp, weak, almost dead, and very bitter. When she goes to train at the castle she starts to regain her strength—once again becoming the best—but she also starts to open herself up to the people and causes around her. 

Prince Dorian is the one that gets Celaena in the whole mess of the competition. He’s great from the first moment he appears on the page. He adds a bit of fun and lightness to the story, which is needed because it can get a little dark and heavy That being said, he’s not just a fluff character. Dorian does have his own issues and troubles that give him complexity.

I had an opposite instant reaction to Chaol—the captain of the guard. At first I was kind of annoyed with him, he came off as very stuffy. In his review, Jesse the Reader mentioned that Chaol reminds him of Four. I can totally see it. He’s the tough mentor who becomes very protective of his mentee. And that development and insight on him drove me to liking him.

I’m going to add here that there is a romance. I’m not going to give anything away other than saying it’s done very well. As I said, the pacing in this novel is great and that extends to the romance. It doesn’t feel rushed, insta-lovey, or unrealistic. It’s very subtle and doesn’t take front seat over Celena or the trials that are going on.

I am so excited about the King. He definitely is not a nice dude. There’s little glimpses of him in Throne of Glass, but I feel like there’s more on his agenda and going on with him.

Throne of Glass is fantastic, phenomenal, all the other amazing adjectives start to a series. There was so much hype, but I still didn’t imagine myself loving it as much as I did. I’m dying to read Crown of Midnight. You can find it on Amazon and the author at sarahjmaas.com. Let me know what you think about it in the comments. Plus leave recommendations for my next book!

6 thoughts on “Review: Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass

  1. Kandace says:

    Great review! I just read this too, and while my first impressions of the book weren’t as positive as yours, I love the rest of the series. I think it gets better EVERY BOOK. I’m excited to read what you think, hopefully you’ll review those, too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

