Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Will Never Read

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is your top five books you will never read. This one was pretty hard for me, as I haven’t really made a conscious decision to never read a book. Let me know what books you will never read in the comments!


vampire academy1. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

A lot of BookTubers I watch really love this series. But, I just don’t think it’s for me. Maybe it’s because I saw the really bad movie first. Maybe it’s because I’m over vampires. Or maybe it’s because the age-gap and relationship between Rose and Dimitri weirds me out. Either way I’ll probably never read this series. I’d like to give Richelle Mead’s new The Glittering Court series though.

2. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

This is a classic, and originally I did have it on my to-be-read. Somewhere along the line though, I’ve decided I’m not going to bother with it. I’ve seen the movie musical that came out and I feel like why I enjoyed it on screen, I’d probably get too bored reading it.

3. Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined by Stephanie Meyer

I read the Twilight series back in middle school, and I’m a little ashamed to say I loved it. Now is a different story. As a more experienced reader and movie watcher I realize there is so much wrong with that series—mediocre writing, problematic relationships, etcetera. So obviously I’m never going to read Stephanie Myer’s Life and Death—which I think is Twilight with the genders reversed between Bella and Edward.

lord of the rings4. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien

I love The Lord of the Rings movies. It’s probably the first big fantasy series I’ve ever heard of and became engaged in. That being said, I’ll probably never get around to reading it. I just have watched the story so many times at this point that I’m not sure if I’d be engaged in the reading.

5. Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

I read Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire not so long ago. This is a companion novel told in Travis’ point of view. I didn’t mind the first book, but I didn’t think it was anything special. I also agree with a lot of reviews and comments I’ve read saying that the relationship between the characters is a bit problematic. Also, the series is a little over the top.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Will Never Read

  1. Spuds says:

    I definitely agree with what you said that there was a time when vampires were such a hit, but now they’re just “meh”, especially if it doesn’t involve anything special.

    I also didn’t read Les Miserables, but I enjoyed the movie. I won’t read Lord of the Rings, and apparently I won’t watch the movies either.

    Like

    • lparadis17 says:

      If you’re even slightly interested in LOTR or fantasy I’d definitely recommend at least the movies, if fantasy isn’t you’re thing probably not.

      Like

  2. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Les Mis is on my TBR, but I honestly don’t know if I’ll ever read it because it’s huge. I think I’ll struggle with the writing style too. I feel the same with LOTR too! I love the movies, but I won’t ever read the books. I did really enjoy the VA books that I read, but I haven’t finished the series yet. It’d probably be a lot harder to get into them now though. I started reading them back when Vampires were everywhere so it made it easier haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

