This or That Thursday: Challenge #53 New Adult

this-or-thatthursday new

So every week Rae from the Bookmark Chronicles poses a bookish question. If you want to check out the challenge click the link. I plan on posting a response every Thursday.

THIS WEEK IS:DO YOU Read New Adult?

You’re probably familiar with the genre “young adult.” Well, the new adult genre focuses on protagonists that are slightly older—ranging from about eighteen to twenty-five years old. Because of the difference in age, new adult books explore more mature themes such as college, careers, abuse, and very frequently sex.

I actually just started reading new adult books this year. Some of the books are cheesy, overdramatic, or just smutty, but a lot of the time I enjoy them. As someone who is in college, it’s nice to read books that are set in a college. My favorites include the Off Campus series by Elle Kennedy, anything by Colleen Hoover, and Kristen Callahan’s Game On series.

Let me know your answer to this weeks this or that in the comments!

2 thoughts on “This or That Thursday: Challenge #53 New Adult

  1. Spuds says:

    I’ve never really enjoyed New Adult that much, I mean, I rarely do read books from that genre anyway. I’ve only had a few Colleen Hoover, and 2 more New Adults written by another author. It’s funny though cause when I was around 10-12, I read a lot of Danielle Steel and Sydney Sheldon books. 😀 Lol.
    I hope to venture out to more genres, but I kind of just don’t feel any interest to do so yet.

    Great post though! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

