The Bookish Booklover Tag

I was tagged to do this by the amazing Alex @ Whimsy Pages. Make sure to check out her blog and post because she’s great!

the_bookish_booklover_tag
This tag was  created by Shantelle @ Shantellemaryh.

Rules:

  • Use the original banner
  • Answer the questions!
  • Use lots of book covers
  • Tag your friends


What books are you currently reading?

I have a couple books marked currently reading. I’m about halfway through The Princess Bride. It’s turned into one of those books that I pick up between books or whenever I have time for a couple pages. I’m pretty familiar with it because of the movie. I have a handful of pages left in The Beauty of Darkness, and I’m partway through both The Mark of Athena and An Ember in the Ashes. 


What’s the last book you finished?

The last book I finished was Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass. I finally started this series the other day at the beach, and I don’t know what I was waiting for.


Favorite book you read this year?

This is such a hard question. I honestly don’t know, I’ve loved a lot of books I’ve read this year. Maybe Red Queen or The Heart of Betrayal. I know it’s a poetry collection, but milk and honey is probably the book that connected with me the most this year.


What genre have you read most this year?

Like always, my most read genre is young adult books. I read almost everything that falls under that umbrella, whether it be contemporaries, fantasy, or dystopian. I’ve also started guilty-pleasure binge reading new adult books.


jackabyWhat genre have you read least this year?

A genre I’ve barely read at all this year is historical fiction. It’s not that I don’t like the genre, I just haven’t found any lately that look interesting. Or if I have, they’re pretty far down on my tbr pile.


What genre do you want to read more of?

I’d like to read more classics. I’m definitely interested in the Brontë sisters, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Hemingway, and a handful of other authors. 


How many books have you read this year, and what’s your goal?

I’ve read eighty-six books of my hundred book goal this year. I think I’ve actually read quite a bit more than that, but some of the new adult books I sped-read I never counted on Goodreads. I’m actually really proud of myself, this is the first year I’ve done the challenge and I’m already twenty-three books ahead of schedule. I’ll probably slow down once school starts.


What’s the last book you bought?

The last book I bought isn’t a book book. I found the Creative Writer’s Notebook on sale at Barnes and Noble and decided to buy it. It has information on twenty different notable authors along with seventy writing exercises. This semester I really need to start writing my thesis, and I thought this would be a good tool to get me back into creative writing.


torch against the nightWhat book are you saving up to buy next?

My next purchase will probably be the rest of the Throne of Glass series. I also want to buy A Torch Against the Night when it comes out.


How many books did you check out last library visit?

The last book I checked out of the library was Red Queen. My mom needed a book for the beach and I recommended it to her.


What’s a book you can’t wait to read?

There are so many books, and I feel like at this point I’m just being repetitive. I really want to read the rest of the books in the Throne of Glass series. There are also a couple of releases I’m waiting for—Sabaa Tahir’s  A Torch Against the Night and Heartless by Marissa Meyer.


What’s a series you’d recommend to everyone?

There’s a couple series I’d recommend. I definitely think everyone should read The Lunar Chronicles. You might not think it sounds like your thing-I didn’t either-but it blew me away. Then there’s also staples like Percy Jackson and the Olympians and The Hunger Games. 


fault in our starsWho’s an author you’re hoping writes more?

I recently mentioned this in a Top Five Wednesday post, but I hope John Green writes more. The Fault in Our Stars was amazing, but it also came out forever ago. I need a new, good, relatable, thought-provoking, contemporary from him.


A few books your heart adores?

I mention these books a lot but The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Peter Pan hold a special place in my heart. I relate to them. I love them. They’re forever favorites.


What series’ coming conclusion makes you sad?

This series already came to conclusion, but since I haven’t finished it I feel like it can work for this question. I’m really sad about finishing The Heroes of Olympus series. I love Percy Jackson and I don’t want my adventures with him to end.


What books are on your wish-list?

I really want Jane Austen’s Vintage Classics editions. They’re gorgeous. I also really want the last two Winner’s Curse books in paperback with Kestrel in a gown on the cover. Not only do I have the first paperback like that, but I don’t like the new covers as much. I’ll probably have to order them special on Book Depository.


Tag time!

Don’t feel like you have to do this if I tag you, and I’m sorry if you’ve already done this and I re-tagged you. I’m also opening this to ANYONE who’s read it and wants to do it.

Jamie @ The Rebellious Reader • Vivian @ Inked in Pages • Nathasya @ Sweater Weather • Kirsty @ Kirsty’s Book Reviews • @ The Bookish Underdog • Clemence @ Words&Dreams • Anna @ Carpe Read ‘Em • Felicia @ Fell for Books • Charlotte @ Wonderfully Bookish • Cara @ Periods and Semicolons  Lila @ The Bookkeeper’s Secrets  Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much   Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts

2 thoughts on “The Bookish Booklover Tag

  1. Alexandra says:

    Thank you! 🙂 Everyone is talking abour Sabaa Tahir books… I need to start reading them. Like… right now. This posts contribute a lot to my book buying addiction 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

