#ReadThemAllThon TBR

readthemallthon

What Is It?

The Pokemon Indigo League #ReadThemAllThon is a three week long reading challenge created by Aentee @ Read at Midnight and based on the Kanto’s Indigo League. Long-time fans of the series would recognise this as the first set of gyms Ash Ketchum had to conquer in his quest to become the Pokemon Master. Now you, my friends, will also embark on a journey to become the very best. Instead of fighting gym battles, you’ll be reading books instead! I know I said in my Pokemon Go Book Tag that I stopped playing the game, but Pokemon is very nostalgic for me and I’ve been wanting to do a read-a-thon


When Is It?

The read-a-thon will run for three weeks between Sunday 14th August to Sunday September 4th.


How Do You Join?

Create a sign-up post on your own blog/booktube/booklr/etc with the books you will read for the challenge below and title it #ReadThemAllThon TBR or something similar. Then add your link to the link widget in the original post. Please link back to the original post.


Chosen Pokemon

Trainer Card

In addition to the book/gym badge challenges, Aentee created a completely optional but super cool points aspect. Basically, you pick a Pokemon—mine is Chikorita—and by reading books or completing other activities they gain cp. In Pokemon Go, this means combat power and basically the strength of your Pokemon. There’s some pretty specific guidelines, so if you’re interested I suggest looking at the original post. 


Gym Challenges

readthemallthon-badge01-boulder-2
1. I’m conquering my fears and giving into the hype. As part of this read-a-thon, I will be starting the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. POTENTIAL POINTS: 40 FOR PAGES READ, 20 FOR COMPLETION, 20 FOR REVIEW

readthemallthon-badge02-cascader-2

2. The Princess Saves Herself In This One is going to give me so many feels—and possibly bring me to tears. I’ve been dying to read this collection of poetry by Amanda Lovelace. So even though it’s a bit short, I’m going to get to it as part of this read-a-thon. POTENTIAL POINTS: 15 FOR PAGES READ, 20 FOR COMPLETION, 20 FOR REVIEW

readthemallthon-badge03-thunder-2

3. I’m giving An Ember in the Ashes a reread before A Torch Against the Night comes out. I got it as a Christmas present, so it’s been a while and my memory is a little fuzzy. This series is so hyped in the book world, and it definitely deserves to be. POTENTIAL POINTS: 44 FOR PAGES READ, 20 FOR COMPLETION

readthemallthon-badge04-rainbow-2

4. I’m currently working my way through The Mark of Athena. By the time this read-a-thon starts, I’m hoping to be ready to move onto The House of Hades. I love how Rick Riordan added the diverse characters that were lacking from Percy Jackson and the Olympians into The Heroes of Olympus. POTENTIAL POINTS: 58 FOR PAGES READ, 20 FOR COMPLETION

readthemallthon-badge05-soul-2

5. If I read The House of Hades, I have to read The Blood of Olympus next. I know I won’t be able to stop myself from binge reading. It’s my favorite heroes’ last chapter and possibly the conclusion of the epic Percabeth romance. POTENTIAL POINTS: 54 FOR PAGES READ, 20 FOR COMPLETION

readthemallthon-badge06-marsh-2

6. I’m not exactly sure what the fantasy aspect of this series is yet, but there definitely some magic and prophecy going on in The Remnant Chronicles. I’m hoping The Heart of Betrayal reveals a bit more about what exactly first daughters and Lia in particular can do.  POTENTIAL POINTS: 47 FOR PAGES READ, 20 FOR COMPLETION, 20 FOR REVIEW

readthemallthon-badge07-flame-2

7. I think finding a book for this badge was the hardest. I ended up with picking Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. This book is longer so I’m a bit intimidated, but I’ve heard great things. POTENTIAL POINTS: 60 FOR PAGES READ, 20 FOR COMPLETION, 20 FOR REVIEW

readthemallthon-badge08-earth-2

8. For this badge, I’m finally going to get around to reading Champion—the last book in Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy. I read the first two books a while back on vacation and just never got around to picking Champion up from the library. So far the series is good but not necessarily compelling. POTENTIAL POINTS: 37 FOR PAGES READ, 20 FOR COMPLETION


What do you think of the read-a-thon? Leave a comment!

8 thoughts on “#ReadThemAllThon TBR

  1. Anonymous says:

    I think I’d love to take part but I dont think I’d be able to read 8 books in 3 weeks. Do you know if you can pick a book to cover more than one challenge?

    Like

    • lparadis17 says:

      I’d double check with the original rules post, but I do believe you can have books double dip for the gym challenges. For example, I could read Illuminae as the first book in a series as well as a red book.

      Like

  2. Amy says:

    I literally went through this entire post thinking YASSSSSSSSSSS!!!! All of these books I have either read and loved, or have very high on my TBR. (I keep checking out Champion but I have a hard time starting those books!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

