This or That Thursday: Challenge #50 Damaged Books

this-or-thatthursday new

So every week Rae from the Bookmark Chronicles poses a bookish question. If you want to check out the challenge click the link. I plan on posting a response every Thursday.

THIS WEEK IS:What’s worse — Lending a book to a friend and having it returned damaged or not returned at all?

For damage you’re supposed to assume the worst possible. Like big tears in pages, coffee stains, and a broken spine. For not returning, I’m not sure if I’m supposed to assume they lost it or just like refuse to give it back—if one of my friends refused to give a book back they would no longer be my friend.

I think damage might be worse. This is based on the fact that someone would probably give it back with damage and think that it’s fine as long as it’s readable. That’s not okay with me. A book can be dropped and water and puffy and still be readable. It can have ripped pages and still be readable. It can have a bent cover and still be readable. Doesn’t mean I want my book to be like that.

Versus if someone loses your book I feel like they would more so understand that they need to replace it. And I’d be perfectly okay with that.

Let me know your answer to this Thursday’s this or that in the comments!

2 thoughts on “This or That Thursday: Challenge #50 Damaged Books

  1. Spuds says:

    I definitely agree!
    I don’t lend out my books because of those two. 😦 I’m scared that they might damage my book, I mean, whenever I borrow books, I treat as if it were my own. And I don’t want the hassle of running after someone to have my book returned; I don’t want to get into a fight with a friend over books. It’s not stupid, but rather, my books and my friends are equally important.

    Like

Leave a Reply

