Top 5 Wednesday: Book You Feel Differently About

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is your top five books you feel differently about. These are books you gave a low rating at first, but after rereading it you ended up loving it. Or a book you loved the first time you read it, but then when you got older and went back to it found it problematic. Let me know what you think in the comments!

twilight1. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

I recently wrote a This or That Thursday about changed opinions when it comes to books and mentioned Twilight. I was super into Twilight back in middle school. Now it makes me cringe. I find the writing somewhat juvenile and the characters super problematic. Bella is bland and has serious dependency issues. And I find Edward super painful, forced, and awkward.

2. Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

Peter Pan was always one of my favorite characters growing up. The Disney cartoon version that is. When I got older, I got around to reading the J.M. Barrie novel and realized that Peter is actually a horrible little boy. He’s self-centered, a little nasty, and completely forgets about Wendy and her brothers. Peter Pan is one of my favorite books, but I think as I aged my opinion on Peter as a character as changed.

3. The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare

I gave up on this series. I read City of Bones, got pissed about the ending and just stopped reading Cassandra Clare’s books. That being said, I picked up The Mortal Instruments again in the last year or so and completely fell in love. If anyone out there is starting and having trouble just get past the first book.

secret circle4. The Secret Circle by L.J. Smith

I got into this series because of the short-lived television show on The CW. I was really into it when I read it, but like Twilight I feel like it’s a little juvenile now and just not my thing. Also, I feel like there are too many books in this series and it’s just overdone.

5. A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin

This is another series I gave up on. I watched the first couple episodes of the television show and stopped. I wasn’t into it. There seemed like too many characters. Things were going a little too slow for my taste. Boy was I wrong. I ended up starting the show again and got completely addicted, which resulted in me picking up the book series.

Leave a Reply

