Review: Rachel R. Smith’s Reflection: Thorn of the White Rose

reflection thorn of the white roseTitle: Reflection: Thorn of the White Rose 
Series: Records of the Ohanzee
Author: 
Rachel R. Smith
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy
Publication Date: May 29, 2016
Pages: 
236
Publisher:
 Rachel R. Smith
Rating: 

black3

I received an e-book copy from the author in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review.

This is the third book in the Records of the Ohanzee series, and the review may contain spoilers from the first book Reflection: The Stranger in the Mirror and the second book Reflection: Harbinger of the Pheonix. You can check out my review of Stranger in the Mirror here and my review of Harbinger here.

Still on a quest to complete the prophecy, Nerissa and her Ohanzee companions find themselves in the mountain providence of Rhea. There, the third book is hidden within an abandoned mine. Deep within the mine, Nerissa will face a supernatural trap and learn that crystals hold power far greater than she ever imagined.

After reading The Stranger in the Mirror and Harbinger of the Pheonix I just had to continue the series. I was already used to Smith’s writing style and the way she switches point of view, so that made reading Thorn of the White Rose a lot easier.

Nerissa is a character that I have so much respect for. As an heiress, she could easily reveal her identity and demand that her subjects go to war for her. Instead, she does everything possible to avoid bloodshed. I think she’s at her best when she’s interacting with her companions. 

I’m glad that this series isn’t overwhelmingly about the romance, since there are more important things going on. That being said, I wished the relationship between Nerissa and Rian moved a little faster. In the last book, Rian connected the dots and recognized Nerissa—even in disguise—as the girl from the ball. But, he still doesn’t know that she’s Nerissa, the Heiress of Chiyo. Nothing has come of this yet, and that made me very frustrated.

Rian also definitely has a secret. I believe I’ve puzzled it out, but I can’t wait until it’s revealed to the other characters. And it for sure will be in the next book, considering it’s titled Reflection: Dragon’s Bane after Rian’s sword.

Every character really plays a role in this series, and it was interesting to see a couple really come into their own in this book and gain what could possibly be an important role in the fight to come.

Crystals have been present in Stranger and Harbinger, but I feel like this book is when both the reader and the characters realize how important they’re going to be. I like the crystals as a source of magic because I feel like it’s very different. That being said, I wish I understood the crystals and their magic just a little bit more. It seems like every chapter I find out about these new powers the crystals have.

This honestly felt like a filler book. Nothing new really arose and nothing was resolved. I kind of wish Thorn of the White Rose was condensed and part of the previous book.

I will be awaiting the release of the fourth book, Reflection: Dragon’s Bane

You can find Reflection: Thorn of the White Rose on Amazon and the author Rachel R. Smith on her blog recordsoftheohanzee.com.  Give it a read and let me know what you think in the comments. Plus leave recommendations for my next book!

Leave a Reply

