Top 5 Wednesday: Most Unlikeable Characters

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is your top five most unlikeable characters, and not in the villain sense but more so characters that aren’t intentionally unlikable. I had some trouble with this topic, so the post is a little shorter than usual. Let me know what you think in the comments!

song of ice and fire1. Catelyn Stark from A Song of Ice and Fire

I loved Ned. I loved Arya. I loved Bran. I liked Rob. But Catelyn Stark frustrated the hell out of me. I understand that she was grieving the loss of her husband. I understand that she just wanted her children back together. Everything she went through and her goals should’ve made her a very sympathetic character. But I just couldn’t sympathize with her. She came off cold. And she forced herself into the game without knowing how to play.

2. Simon from The Mortal Instruments

A lot of people might disagree with me here. I just never liked Simon. He’s a trope—the hopelessly in love best friend who tries to get in the way of the main character and the love interest. I enjoy a lot of tropes, just not this one.

 3. Gale Hawthorne from The Hunger Games

This shouldn’t come as a surprised. I didn’t have a problem with Gale until the second book really. What stood out to me is how he didn’t seem to get Katniss or what she needed after the Games. Yet, he still pushes himself on her and tries to make her feel guilty. She tells him she wants to run away, but he ignores her because the revolution is more important to him. Katniss never wanted a revolution. That’s not why she did what she did. Everything from volunteering to the berries was about saving people she loved.

3. Mare Barrow from Glass Sword

Some clarification. I love this series. I love Red Queen. I love Glass Sword. I love Mare. But, I  super frustrated with her in this book. She was so set on not trusting anyone. Yes, I get it. Anyone one can betray anyone. You’ve been betrayed. But gosh girl, stop being so cold.

twilight5. Bella Swan from Twilight

I loved Twilight the first time I read it. But upon looking back, I’ve realized how problematic and shitty this book and its’ characters are. Bella is bland. I mentioned in a This or That Thursday last week, that if I had to characterize her as a food I’d pick a bran muffin. She also has serious dependency issues. I know breakups are bad, but when Edward leaves she turns into a zombie. Plus, she constantly and purposefully puts herself in dangerous situations. How problematic is that? And she doesn’t even save herself, she depends on all these other people.

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Most Unlikeable Characters

  1. darnell louis says:

    I have Gale on my list, and I agree with everything you said about him. I didn’t put Bella on my list, but still agree with you 100%.

    Like

  2. Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf says:

    How did I forget to mention Bella Swan in my post?! I 100% agree with you when it comes to Bella, and I am in the same boat as you — when I first read the book I had no problem with her. But as I have grown up and I reflect on her character, she is definitely one of my least favourite characters. Without a doubt.

    Though, I have to disagree with you about Simon. I know he’s a trope, but I absolutely love him.

    Wonderful list, though! 🙂

    Like

    • lparadis17 says:

      It’s something about that trope for me, nothing directly against Simon. I like seeing that type of character better on screen more than reading it.

      Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Aww, I really like Simon! However, I think I like him best in the later books, when he starts to have his own story and gets away from the “in love best friend” gig. I’ve only read one of the short stories about him, but I think he sheds the skin of that trope pretty thoroughly and stands on his own as a full character.

    Like

Leave a Reply

