Top 5 Wednesday:Books You Wish Had Sequels

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is top five books you wish had sequels. I found this one really hard. I just think the type of book that usually needs a sequel is of the fantasy or dystopian genre. And big surprise, all the books I’ve read in those genres have sequels. In comparison, contemporaries usually don’t need or get sequels. So none of these are books I think absolutely need a sequel, but more like ideas if they were to get a sequel. Let me know what you think in the comments!

fangirl1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I couldn’t believe the end of this book was the end. I wanted more. I think the sequel could continue with Cath’s journey at college and her relationship with Levi. I can just see so many awkward but cute moments between them as they get more serious. Or maybe the sequel could follow Reagan, sort of like an Anna and the French Kiss series scenario. I really liked her and I think it’d be cool to get in her headspace and have her possibly find a boy.

2. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Hear me out, I know there are two other books in this series. I love them both. But I wish that before Kristin Cahsore published Bitterblue, she came out with another book that’s strictly Katsa and Po. Their chemistry is off the charts, and I literally can’t get enough of them. I can only imagine the adventures they went on after Graceling, and I wish I got to see them.

since you've been gone3. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

I think seeing Sloane’s point of view would be super cool. It could start a little bit before Emily finds and visits her and then kind of progress from there. I just think she has a really interesting backstory, as well as some issues and an arc to make. Like her arc could be crazy good. Plus, all we get about her is from Emily’s perspective, and it’d be nice to get to know her from her.

4. The Rose & the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh

I think everything just happened a little too quick and convenient in this book. The whole first book in the series was Shanzi in the palace and getting to know Khalid. The pacing was just right. Then in this book the two are thrust apart, Shanzi is in a new setting, there are a bunch of different elements put in play. Yet, it all gets resolved in the 416 pages. I just think she could’ve taken more time and more pages, making this a trilogy instead of a duology.

pride and prejudice5. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I know there have been a lot of sequels or spin-offs written by other authors, but I’d love to have one written by the queen herself. I just want to see Elizabeth and Darcy’s life after marriage. Do they keep of the flirty verbal-sparring? Do they have children? Does Lizzy ever stop taking long walks in the mud? These are the questions I need answered by Austen herself.

Leave a Reply

