This or That Thursday: Challenge #46 Breaking Spines

this-or-thatthursday new

So every week Rae from the Bookmark Chronicles poses a bookish question. If you want to check out the challenge click the link. I plan on posting a response every Thursday.

THIS WEEK IS: How do you feel about breaking the spines of a book?

I bought Percy Jackson and the Olympians boxed set recently, and when all five of the books are together the spines show the New York City skyline. I was super careful when reading them, but I still ended up with the spine of the third book being creased.

I hate seeing the spines like that, but sometimes it’s just unavoidable. I think a bigger pet peeve of mine is when paperback covers accidentally get bent, it doesn’t matter if you flatten it out the mark will always be there. But I also dog ear pages so I don’t know how much authority I have here.

Let me know your answer to this Thursday’s this or that in the comments!

2 thoughts on “This or That Thursday: Challenge #46 Breaking Spines

  1. Magda says:

    I don’t care much for spine breaking, I think it shows the book was read instead of just standing on a shelf and looking pretty. Unless it’ś a hardcover. No spine peaking here.
    But page bending. … you barbarian 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

