Review: Morgan Matson’s The Unexpected Everything

unexpected everythingTitle: The Unexpected Everything
Author: Morgan Matson
Genre: 
Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016
Pages:
519
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Rating: 

blue4.5

Andie has her shit together. She has a killer internship planned out for the summer, doesn’t do relationships past three weeks, and knows what the rest of her life is going to look like. Until the unexpected happens. Haha get it, The Unexpected Everything. Her congressman father who’s always gone will be home for the summer, her internship is cancelled, and the only job she can get is walking a ton of dogs.

I was so ready for this book after reading Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. It was such a great summer read and this looked like it would stack up—I mean there’s dogs on the cover. And I wasn’t disappointed. Like I literally wanted to be part of Andie’s friend group and have this be my summer.

This book literally has everything—friendship, family, and romance. And every aspect as well as character is given an arc. The friends at first were a bit hard to differentiate from each other, but I enjoyed their different personalities, group texts, and story arcs. Like the fact that Matson shows their group texts was just so cool and funny to me. Emojis galore.

Then there’s the family aspect. Andie’s father is a senator and is forced to take some time off. He’s never really been around before with nothing to do so they kind of have to adapt to being together and work on their relationship. I loved seeing them getting to know each other and figuring out boundaries, it starts pretty awkward but that’s why I enjoyed it.

Clark was dare I say an even swoony-er male lead than Frank Porter in SYBG. Matron is queen when it comes to writing adorable yet awkward and nerdy male leads. Plus, he actually kind of has his own arc. He’s not just a romantic prop. I like that their romance doesn’t start off perfect. Him and Andie definitely don’t click right away and it makes it so real. But then I liked that after that I didn’t have to wait like the whole book for them to actually get together. I’ve read so many books where the characters get together and the book ends, I like actually getting to see them in a relationship.

And the book has dogs! Like the dogs on the cover are at least half the reason I bought this book and their involvement didn’t disappoint in the story. I just want my summer to be filled with dogs.

Plot wise it’s really hard to figure out what everything is culminating to until it gets there. It kind of feels like summer in that way: there are a lot of days that blend together that nothing really happens but you’ve had a good time. The pacing along with the characters are what made this book feel so real—like it could be about the experiences a real group of friends had one summer.

The Unexpected Everything is so perfect for summer, like I can’t stress it enough. You can find it on Amazon and the author at morganmatson.com. Give it a read and let me know what you think in the comments. Plus leave recommendations for my next book!

2 thoughts on “Review: Morgan Matson’s The Unexpected Everything

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great review! I totally loved Since You’ve Been Gone and with all the good reviews of The Unexpected Everything, I want to read it as well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

