Top 5 Wednesday: Book Theme Songs

Top Five Wednesdays started on Goodreads back in 2013. At the beginning of every month Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes posts a topic for each Wednesday and bloggers, vloggers and overall book fans are encouraged to respond with their top five.

This week is top five book theme songs—basically songs you associate with different books. This topic was a little hard for me because I listen to the same Pandora station no matter what I’m reading. Let me know what you think in the comments!

since you've been gone1. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
Song: “Country Girl (Shake It For Me)” by Luke Bryan

Something super cool about this book is that it includes playlists made up by two of the characters Emily and Frank. And I absolutely loved that Emily’s playlists included country music, as I’m a big country fan myself. I don’t know if this exact song was part of a playlist, but I totally feel like it’s something Emily would listen to—I mean who doesn’t love Luke Bryan. Plus it reminds me of summer, when this book takes place. You can read my review of Since You’ve Been Gone here 

2. The Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Collins
Song: “I Won’t Give Up” by Jason Mraz

Peeta and Katniss literally won’t give up on each other. First there’s Katniss offering up the berries. Then there’s Peeta volunteering for the Quarter Quell. And no one can forget how heartbroken but determined the two are after Peeta is hijacked by President Snow.

anna and the french kiss3. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Song: “You Belong With Me” by Taylor Swift

This song is Anna and Étienne’s relationship. They are best friends but there’s also that something more they can’t deny, the problem: Étienne’s girlfriend. This lyric is what really sells it for me: “Oh, I remember you driving to my house/In the middle of the night./I’m the one who makes you laugh/ When you know you’re ’bout to cry.” It reminds me so much of the time the two spend together alone over Thanksgiving break as Étienne grieves over his mom’s cancer. You can read my review of Anna and the French Kiss here.

4. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard
Song: “Renegades” by X Ambassadors 

This song perfectly describe Mare and her band of misfits who are out there on the run and starting a rebellion. I like how it’s not harsh like some other songs that make mention of revolution, but instead has a feeling of camaraderie. You can read my review of Glass Sword here.

an ember in the ashes5. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
Song: “I Know Places” by Taylor Swift

An Ember in the Ashes is all about Laia and Elias—the secrets they keep, their underlying attraction, and the danger everyone else presents. Not only are  lyrics of this song are so relevant to all of that, but the music itself sounds like all of that. I don’t even know how to describe it. You can read my review of An Ember in the Ashes here.

Just a bonus, since seeing the movie trailer I definitely relate “Unsteady” by X Ambassadors to Me Before You.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Book Theme Songs

Leave a Reply

